[
 {
  "id": "T009",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Ketamine",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "ketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "single bolus during etomidate/fentanyl induction",
    "start": "at_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "Placebo (0.9% saline)",
    "role": "control"
   },
   {
    "name": "Nonsurgical controls",
    "role": "other"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": false,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "cardiac surgery with cardiopulmonary bypass (CABG and/or valve)",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "Geriatric Depression Scale 15-item",
    "code": "GDS",
    "days": [
     7
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": null,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": null,
  "enrollment": {
   "start": null,
   "end": null
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 52,
  "country": "USA",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "Single ketamine 0.5 mg/kg IV bolus during anesthetic induction for cardiac surgery with CPB, so none and late_dosing false. GDS-15 belongs to the test battery given within a week before surgery and again 1 week after surgery or at discharge (whichever first), coded day 7. The 26 nonsurgical controls were not randomized (other). planned_n 52 = 26 per randomized group. Age >= 55, so adult."
 },
 {
  "id": "T018",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Ketamine group",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "ketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": true,
    "pump_total_mg": 160,
    "dose_note": "0.5 mg/kg IV 10 min after delivery; then PCIA ketamine 160 mg + sufentanil 100 ug in 100 mL, 2 mL/h background, 2 mL bolus, 8 min lockout",
    "start": "after_delivery",
    "end": "after_emergence"
   },
   {
    "name": "Control group",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "neuraxial",
  "conscious_dosing": "some",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "cesarean",
  "procedure": "cesarean section under spinal anesthesia",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "EPDS (PPD at 6-8 weeks; postpartum blues at 4-6 days, EPDS > 9)",
    "code": "EPDS",
    "days": [
     5,
     49
    ],
    "primary": true
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "NRS postoperative pain (unspecified)",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ChiCTR",
   "id": "ChiCTR-ROC-17012944",
   "date": null
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2014-08",
   "end": "2016-12"
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": null,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "Ketamine 0.5 mg/kg IV 10 min after delivery under spinal anesthesia (awake), then a ketamine PCIA: some. Control got no injection and the same PCIA without ketamine (no study drug). EPDS > 9 defines PPD at 6-8 weeks and blues at 4-6 days; days are window midpoints. Only generic intraoperative adverse reactions recorded, so psychotomimetic_monitoring false. Registry ID printed as 'ChiCTR-ROC-17,012,944'."
 },
 {
  "id": "T035",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "S-ketamine group",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.25,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": 0.125,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "bolus immediately after induction before incision; infusion until 15 min before end of surgery",
    "start": "after_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "Saline group",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general_and_regional",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": true,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "video-assisted thoracoscopic surgery (VATS)",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "HADS-D",
    "code": "HADS_D",
    "days": [
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "NRS at rest",
    "code": "rest",
    "days": [
     0,
     1,
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "NRS during coughing",
    "code": "movement",
    "days": [
     0,
     1,
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "rescue analgesia (IM bucinnazine) requirement",
    "code": "opioid",
    "days": [],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ChiCTR",
   "id": "ChiCTR2100046552",
   "date": null
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2021-05",
   "end": "2021-12"
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 80,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "S-ketamine bolus after induction, infusion stopped 15 min before the end of surgery: all under GA (none), but the infusion ran into the last 30 min, so late_dosing true. All patients also had a surgeon-placed intercostal block before closure (general_and_regional). QoR-40 primary."
 },
 {
  "id": "T045",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Esketamine group",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.25,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": true,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "0.25 mg/kg in 20 mL infused over 30 min after cord clamping; then PCIA esketamine 1.25 mg/kg + sufentanil 100 ug in 100 mL, 1 mL/h background, 2 mL bolus, 15 min lockout",
    "start": "after_delivery",
    "end": "after_emergence"
   },
   {
    "name": "Control group (normal saline)",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "neuraxial",
  "conscious_dosing": "some",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "cesarean",
  "procedure": "elective cesarean section under spinal anesthesia",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "EPDS (PPD risk, EPDS > 12)",
    "code": "EPDS",
    "days": [
     3,
     42,
     90,
     180
    ],
    "primary": true
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "NRS at rest",
    "code": "rest",
    "days": [
     1,
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "NRS during coughing",
    "code": "movement",
    "days": [
     1,
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "cumulative sufentanil consumption",
    "code": "opioid",
    "days": [
     1,
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ChiCTR",
   "id": "ChiCTR2100046049",
   "date": null
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2021-05",
   "end": "2021-12"
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 150,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "Esketamine 0.25 mg/kg infused over 30 min after cord clamping under spinal anesthesia (awake), then a postoperative esketamine PCIA: some. Control got saline and the same PCIA without esketamine."
 },
 {
  "id": "T046",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Low-dose esketamine group (1 mg/kg esketamine PCIA)",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.25,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": true,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "0.25 mg/kg over 10 min after delivery; then PCIA esketamine 1.0 mg/kg + sufentanil 2.2 ug/kg in 100 mL, continuous 2 mL/h for 48 h (~0.02 mg/kg/h)",
    "start": "after_delivery",
    "end": "after_emergence"
   },
   {
    "name": "High-dose esketamine group (2 mg/kg esketamine PCIA)",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.25,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": true,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "0.25 mg/kg over 10 min after delivery; then PCIA esketamine 2.0 mg/kg + sufentanil 2.2 ug/kg in 100 mL, continuous 2 mL/h for 48 h (~0.04 mg/kg/h)",
    "start": "after_delivery",
    "end": "after_emergence"
   },
   {
    "name": "Placebo group",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "neuraxial",
  "conscious_dosing": "some",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "cesarean",
  "procedure": "elective cesarean section under spinal anesthesia",
  "depression_selection": "selected",
  "selection_criterion": "antenatal EPDS > 9",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "EPDS (postpartum depressive symptoms, EPDS > 9)",
    "code": "EPDS",
    "days": [
     7,
     42
    ],
    "primary": true
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "NRS pain (unspecified)",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     0,
     1,
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ChiCTR",
   "id": "ChiCTR-ROC-2000039069",
   "date": null
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2020-12",
   "end": "2022-01"
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 300,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "multi",
  "note": "Esketamine 0.25 mg/kg over 10 min after delivery under spinal anesthesia (awake), then 48 h continuous PCIA with esketamine: some. Placebo got 20 mL saline and sufentanil-only PCIA. Only women with antenatal EPDS > 9. CADSS at 40 min after infusion."
 },
 {
  "id": "T048",
  "eligible": false,
  "exclusion_reason": "no_depression_measure",
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Group S",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.3,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "single bolus injected after intubation",
    "start": "after_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "Group C (normal saline)",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": false,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "breast or thyroid surgery (women)",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "VAS pain (unspecified)",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     1,
     2,
     3
    ],
    "primary": true
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": null,
   "assessors": null
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ChiCTR",
   "id": "ChiCTR2200060928",
   "date": null
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": null,
   "end": null
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 120,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "No depression measure: outcomes are SAS (anxiety) and VAS pain. Single S-ketamine 0.3 mg/kg after intubation under GA; late_dosing false assumes the operation outlasted 30 min after the post-intubation bolus. Only anesthesiologists are said to be blinded."
 },
 {
  "id": "T051",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "S group (propofol with esketamine)",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.3,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "single dose given slowly with propofol 1.5-2 mg/kg at induction",
    "start": "at_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "P group (propofol)",
    "role": "control"
   },
   {
    "name": "D group (propofol with dezocine)",
    "role": "other"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "sedation",
  "conscious_dosing": "some",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "dilatation and curettage for termination of pregnancy",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "EPDS",
    "code": "EPDS",
    "days": [
     7,
     42
    ],
    "primary": true
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "VAS pain (unspecified)",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ChiCTR",
   "id": "ChiCTR2200058731",
   "date": null
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2022-03",
   "end": "2022-08"
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 105,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "Methods call it general anesthesia, but it is propofol TIVA with nasal-cannula oxygen and no airway device, i.e. the codebook's sedation (as for endoscopy), so some. Esketamine 0.3 mg/kg went in with propofol at induction of a brief D&C; if read as general: none with late_dosing true. Control (P) had no study drug but a higher propofol induction dose (2.5-3 vs 1.5-2 mg/kg). Delirium during and after recovery recorded as an adverse reaction."
 },
 {
  "id": "T059",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Treatment Arm",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": true,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "0.5 mg/kg IV after loss of consciousness at induction; then 0.5 mg/kg/day added to sufentanil pump (1.5 mg/kg per 150 mL, meant for 3 days, up to 7 days) after each of the first 3 surgeries",
    "start": "at_induction",
    "end": "after_emergence"
   },
   {
    "name": "Control Arm",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "some",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "burn debridement or skin grafting (burns >= 20% TBSA)",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "Self-rating Depression Scale (SDS), at discharge",
    "code": "SDS",
    "days": [],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "subjective analgesic effectiveness (SAE), day 28 after admission or before discharge",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [],
    "primary": true
   },
   {
    "measure": "NPR at rest (NPRr)",
    "code": "rest",
    "days": [
     1,
     2,
     3
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "NPR on movement (NPRm)",
    "code": "movement",
    "days": [
     1,
     2,
     3
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "daily opioid use (MME)",
    "code": "opioid",
    "days": [],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ChiCTR",
   "id": "ChiCTR2000034069",
   "date": "2020-06-22"
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2020-09",
   "end": "2022-12"
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 60,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "multi",
  "note": "Esketamine 0.5 mg/kg IV after the patient fell asleep at induction, plus esketamine in the postoperative sufentanil pump for days: some. SDS on admission and at discharge (no fixed day). Mental disorders recorded through day 28. Baseline table ignored."
 },
 {
  "id": "T062",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Group S",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": 0.5,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "0.5 mg/kg bolus in 20 mL at induction, then 0.5 mg/kg/h until end of surgery",
    "start": "at_induction",
    "end": "end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "Group C",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": true,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "modified radical mastectomy",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "PHQ-9",
    "code": "PHQ9",
    "days": [
     7,
     90
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "chronic postsurgical pain (NRS >= 3, rest or movement)",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     90
    ],
    "primary": true
   },
   {
    "measure": "NRS postoperative pain (unspecified)",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     0,
     1
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ChiCTR",
   "id": "ChiCTR2300070728",
   "date": null
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": null,
   "end": null
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 72,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "S-ketamine bolus at induction, then infusion until the end of surgery under GA: none, late_dosing true. Caution: the control saline bolus is described as given 10 min before induction; if the blinded syringes were given alike, the ketamine bolus may have started before induction (awake). Table ignored."
 },
 {
  "id": "T064",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Ketamine",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "ketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "single bolus after induction, before incision; no other intraoperative ketamine allowed",
    "start": "after_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "Placebo",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": false,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "major orthopedic surgery (spine, hip or knee arthroplasty, hip fixation, shoulder)",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "older",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "HADS depression score (>= 8)",
    "code": "HADS_D",
    "days": [
     7,
     90
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "VAS at rest",
    "code": "rest",
    "days": [
     0,
     1,
     2,
     3,
     4,
     5,
     6,
     7,
     90
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "cumulative opioid requirement, day 0-7",
    "code": "opioid",
    "days": [
     7
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "neuropathic pain (DN4)",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     90
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ClinicalTrials.gov",
   "id": "NCT02892916",
   "date": "2016-09"
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2017-03-20",
   "end": "2019-05-28"
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 274,
  "country": "France",
  "centers": "multi",
  "note": "Single ketamine 0.5 mg/kg IV bolus after induction, before incision, under GA (technique at each team's discretion): none, late_dosing false. Primary outcome changed mid-trial from delirium to delayed neurocognitive recovery at day 7. Hallucinations collected to day 7."
 },
 {
  "id": "T067",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Low esketamine group (0.2 mg/kg)",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.2,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "single 10 mL injection during anesthesia",
    "start": "after_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "High esketamine group (0.5 mg/kg)",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "single 10 mL injection during anesthesia",
    "start": "after_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "Control group (placebo)",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": false,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "lung or mediastinal tumor resection with one-lung ventilation",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "HADS-D",
    "code": "HADS_D",
    "days": [
     1,
     3
    ],
    "primary": true
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "VAS pain (unspecified)",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     0,
     1,
     2,
     3
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ChiCTR",
   "id": "ChiCTR2100047067",
   "date": null
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2021-06",
   "end": "2022-07"
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 135,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "Single esketamine injection 'during anesthesia' after induction (hemodynamics planned 5, 30 and 60 min after it, before the end of surgery): none, late_dosing false. Only CAM/MMSE cognitive outcomes; no psychotomimetic adverse events listed."
 },
 {
  "id": "T068",
  "eligible": false,
  "exclusion_reason": "no_depression_measure",
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Esketamine group",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": null,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "0.5-0.7 mg/kg infused over at least 60 min; timing relative to surgery unclear",
    "start": "unclear",
    "end": "unclear"
   },
   {
    "name": "SC-RPC group",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "unclear",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "surgery for systemic tumors (women)",
  "depression_selection": "selected",
  "selection_criterion": "perioperative anxiety and depressive symptoms (DP1 low-medium, DP2 medium-high)",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "PHQ-9 (day before surgery only)",
    "code": "PHQ9",
    "days": [],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "PHQ-15 (day before surgery only)",
    "code": "OTHER",
    "days": [],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "MADRS (day before surgery only)",
    "code": "MADRS",
    "days": [],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": null,
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2019",
   "end": "2021"
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": null,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": null,
  "note": "Garbled Methods. 'SC-RPC' (apparently single-center randomized placebo-controlled) names both the trial and the comparator group, read as placebo. PHQ-9, PHQ-15 and MADRS are described only on the day before surgery, with no postoperative depression measure (an EEG/ML depression classifier is untimed), so no_depression_measure. Esketamine timing unclear (text also says patients 'received postoperative treatment with Esketamine'). Approval is from an 'Animal Ethics Committee'. Methods tables ignored."
 },
 {
  "id": "T081",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Esketamine",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.3,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "single 0.3 mg/kg dose at induction; route not stated, given with the IV induction drugs",
    "start": "at_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "Saline control",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": false,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "elective cardiac valve surgery",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "HADS-D (Chinese HADS, depression symptoms)",
    "code": "HADS_D",
    "days": [
     7,
     30
    ],
    "primary": true
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "NRS at rest",
    "code": "rest",
    "days": null,
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "NRS during movement",
    "code": "movement",
    "days": null,
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ClinicalTrials.gov",
   "id": "NCT06608030",
   "date": null
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2024-09-23",
   "end": "2025-03"
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 142,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "multi",
  "note": "One esketamine bolus given at induction with midazolam, sufentanil and etomidate, so none; cardiac valve surgery lasts hours, so it ended long before the last 30 min (late false). Primary is HADS-D depression prevalence at POD 7, POD 30 secondary. Psychotomimetic: 'drug-related side effects within 3 days' recorded (types not listed) plus daily delirium screening. Pain NRS days not stated."
 },
 {
  "id": "T093",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Esketamine",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": null,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": 0.375,
    "infusion_hours": 0.67,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "0.25 mg/kg in 20 mL saline infused over 40 min (total 0.25 mg/kg)",
    "start": "after_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "Placebo (20 mL normal saline)",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "surgery under general anesthesia (type not given in text)",
  "depression_selection": "selected",
  "selection_criterion": "eligibility section missing from text; MADRS response and remission outcomes imply depressed participants",
  "age_group": null,
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "MADRS",
    "code": "MADRS",
    "days": [
     1,
     2,
     3,
     4,
     5,
     28,
     84
    ],
    "primary": true
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "NRS at 48 h (severe pain = any NRS >= 7)",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": null,
  "enrollment": {
   "start": null,
   "end": null
  },
  "ethics_approval": false,
  "planned_n": 108,
  "country": null,
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "PDF text lost the design and eligibility paragraphs (registration, ethics, country, ages, procedure not in text; country probably China, unstated). 40-min infusion started after skin incision under propofol-remifentanil TIVA, so all dosing under GA (none); surgery length not given, so whether it ended in the last 30 min is unclear. Primary: MADRS response (50% reduction) on POD 3."
 },
 {
  "id": "T096",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Ketamine group",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "ketamine",
    "route": "oral",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": null,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "30 mg oral (in apple juice) every 8 h for 3 days, max 9 doses, or until discharge; body weight not given",
    "start": "postoperative",
    "end": "after_emergence"
   },
   {
    "name": "Placebo group (normal saline)",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "unclear",
  "conscious_dosing": "some",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "multi-level lumbar spine decompression and fusion",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "PHQ-9",
    "code": "PHQ9",
    "days": [
     1,
     7,
     30
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "NRS maximum, minimum and average pain over past 24 h",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     1,
     7,
     30
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "daily opioid use in morphine equivalents (inpatient record, then phone)",
    "code": "opioid",
    "days": [
     1,
     7,
     30
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "PROMIS pain interference",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     1,
     7,
     30
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ClinicalTrials.gov",
   "id": "NCT04646694",
   "date": "2020-11-30"
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": null,
   "end": null
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 40,
  "country": "Canada",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "Oral ketamine started after surgery and taken awake for up to 3 days, so some (no dose under GA, late null). Anesthesia not stated; intraoperative care unrestricted, so intraoperative ketamine was allowed in both arms (only extra postoperative ketamine barred). Pilot: 40 adults 'included', no sample size calculation. Side effects by GASE, CNS included. Primary QoR-15."
 },
 {
  "id": "T112",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Esketamine",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": null,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": 0.3,
    "infusion_hours": 0.67,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "0.2 mg/kg over 40 min (0.6 mL/kg/h of 0.5 mg/mL)",
    "start": "after_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "Placebo (normal saline)",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "major surgery expected to last over 2 h",
  "depression_selection": "selected",
  "selection_criterion": "PHQ-9 >= 10 and MADRS >= 22 before surgery",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "MADRS (remission <= 10, response, scores)",
    "code": "MADRS",
    "days": [
     3,
     5
    ],
    "primary": true
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "moderate-to-severe pain (any NRS >= 4) within 72 h",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     1,
     2,
     3
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ClinicalTrials.gov",
   "id": "NCT04425473",
   "date": "2020-06-11"
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2021-02-19",
   "end": "2024-06-20"
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 564,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "multi",
  "note": "Methods never say when the 40-min infusion started, but place it under GA during surgery (unmasking for esketamine adverse events 'during surgery', intraoperative safety outcomes), so coded after induction and none. Surgery >2 h, so it likely ended well before the end, but with no start time late_dosing is null. Primary: MADRS remission POD 3; visits days 1, 2, 3, 5 and 1, 3, 6 months."
 },
 {
  "id": "T115",
  "eligible": false,
  "exclusion_reason": "not_randomized",
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "ketamine-only (Study 1, healthy volunteers, laboratory)",
    "role": "other"
   },
   {
    "name": "ketamine-GA (Study 2)",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "ketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": null,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": 0.75,
    "infusion_hours": 0.67,
    "pump": false,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "0.5 mg/kg over 40 min",
    "start": "after_induction",
    "end": "unclear"
   },
   {
    "name": "placebo-GA (Study 2)",
    "role": "control"
   },
   {
    "name": "Study 3 ketamine in participants with depression",
    "role": "other"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "elective surgery (Study 2 of a pooled EEG analysis)",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": null,
  "depression_measures": [],
  "pain_measures": [],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": null,
   "assessors": null
  },
  "registration": null,
  "enrollment": {
   "start": null,
   "end": null
  },
  "ethics_approval": false,
  "planned_n": null,
  "country": "USA",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "Secondary EEG analysis pooling three datasets. Only Study 2 (Stanford) is perioperative: ketamine (n=18) or placebo (n=19) infused intraoperatively under steady-state GA, but these Methods state no randomization and no depression measure (no_depression_measure also applies). Study 2's population and timing within surgery not described."
 },
 {
  "id": "T121",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Esketamine group",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": null,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": 0.5,
    "infusion_hours": 0.5,
    "pump": true,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "0.25 mg/kg in 20 mL over 30 min after cord clamping; then PCIA with 1.25 mg/kg esketamine + sufentanil 100 ug in 100 mL (1 mL/h basal, 2 mL bolus, 15-min lockout)",
    "start": "after_delivery",
    "end": "after_emergence"
   },
   {
    "name": "Control group (normal saline)",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "neuraxial",
  "conscious_dosing": "some",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "cesarean",
  "procedure": "cesarean delivery under spinal anesthesia",
  "depression_selection": "selected",
  "selection_criterion": "EPDS >= 10 at admission for delivery",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "EPDS (PPD = EPDS >= 10)",
    "code": "EPDS",
    "days": [
     3,
     42
    ],
    "primary": true
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "NRS at rest (supine)",
    "code": "rest",
    "days": [
     1,
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "NRS during coughing",
    "code": "movement",
    "days": [
     1,
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "cumulative sufentanil consumption (0-48 h)",
    "code": "opioid",
    "days": [
     1,
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ChiCTR",
   "id": "ChiCTR2300077191",
   "date": null
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2023-10",
   "end": "2024-06"
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 174,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "multi",
  "note": "Awake under spinal for the 30-min esketamine infusion after cord clamping, then esketamine in the postoperative PCIA, so some (no GA, late null). Control got saline, then the same PCIA without esketamine. Primary: PPD (EPDS >= 10) at 6 weeks; EPDS also on day 3."
 },
 {
  "id": "T123",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Esketamine group",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": null,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": true,
    "pump_total_mg": null,
    "dose_note": "PCIA only: 0.72 mg/kg esketamine + sufentanil 2 ug/kg in 100 mL, 2 mL/h background, 1 mL bolus, 15-min lockout, for 48 h",
    "start": "end_of_surgery",
    "end": "after_emergence"
   },
   {
    "name": "Sufentanil group",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general_and_regional",
  "conscious_dosing": "some",
  "late_dosing": true,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "elderly total hip or knee arthroplasty",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "older",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "HAMD",
    "code": "HAMD",
    "days": [
     1,
     2,
     3,
     7
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "pain NRS",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     1,
     2,
     3,
     7
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "number of PCIA attempts within 48 h",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     1,
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "rescue analgesics (flurbiprofen) within 48 h",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     1,
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": null,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ChiCTR",
   "id": "ChiCTR2400085319",
   "date": null
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2024-06-10",
   "end": "2024-11-30"
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 120,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "Esketamine only in the postoperative PCIA, started at the end of suturing (still under GA, so late true) and run 48 h while awake, so some. Control: same sufentanil PCIA without esketamine, so inert. GA plus femoral and lateral femoral cutaneous nerve blocks. Called double-blind, but the list of blinded people omits patients, who drew their own envelope. Primary: sleep disturbance POD 1."
 }
]
