[
  {
    "trial": "T012",
    "source": "registry",
    "arms": {
      "Ketamine": {"randomized": "22", "analysed": "20"},
      "Placebo": {"randomized": "23", "analysed": "20"}
    },
    "depression": [
      {"measure": "Beck's Depression Inventory", "day": 3, "form": "median_iqr",
       "location": "Posted results, secondary outcome 'Beck's Depression Inventory' (time frame: Post-op Day 3)",
       "values": {"Ketamine": {"median": "8", "q1": "5", "q3": "16", "n": "20"},
                  "Placebo": {"median": "9", "q1": "8", "q3": "11", "n": "20"}}}
    ],
    "pain": [],
    "adverse_events": [
      {"window": "overall",
       "values": {"Ketamine": {"any_ae": "0"}, "Placebo": {"any_ae": "0"}}}
    ],
    "blinding_check": null,
    "enrollment": null,
    "registration": {"number": "NCT02424591", "date": null},
    "note": "Randomized is the participant flow's STARTED (Ketamine 22, Placebo 23); analysed is COMPLETED (20 and 20), the number analysed for every outcome. Adverse events: the registry reports serious 0/20 and other 0/20 in each arm, reviewed from intraoperative through post-op day 3, coded as any_ae 0 with window overall; no individual events are listed. The only pain measure, the McGill Short Form (median, IQR: Ketamine 11 (4.5 to 18), Placebo 10.5 (8 to 17)), was assessed on post-op day 3 only, outside the day 1 and day 2 windows, so it is not coded. The registry text gives no enrollment dates or registration date."
  },
  {
    "trial": "T015",
    "source": "abstract",
    "arms": {
      "Ketamine": {"randomized": null, "analysed": null},
      "Placebo (saline)": {"randomized": null, "analysed": null}
    },
    "depression": [],
    "pain": [],
    "adverse_events": [],
    "blinding_check": null,
    "enrollment": null,
    "registration": null,
    "note": "Abstract only. 330 parturients were enrolled and randomly assigned, with no per-arm numbers. EPDS (threshold 9/10) at 3 days and 6 weeks is reported only as no significant difference in prevalence, and NRS pain at 3 days and 6 weeks only as no difference at 3 days and lower with ketamine at 6 weeks (P = 0.014); no arm values are printed. No adverse events reported."
  },
  {
    "trial": "T039",
    "source": "fulltext",
    "arms": {
      "Experimental Group A: labor analgesia with esketamine": {"randomized": null, "analysed": "100"},
      "Experimental Group B: labor analgesia alone": {"randomized": null, "analysed": "100"}
    },
    "depression": [
      {"measure": "Edinburgh Postnatal Depression Scale (EPDS)", "day": 42, "form": "count",
       "definition": "EPDS score ≥ 10 ('incidence of depression ... in the postpartum period')",
       "location": "Results, Comparison of EPDS and VAS scores among the groups (text, citing Supplementary Table S2)",
       "values": {"Experimental Group A: labor analgesia with esketamine": {"events": "4", "n": "100"},
                  "Experimental Group B: labor analgesia alone": {"events": "2", "n": "100"}}}
    ],
    "pain": [],
    "adverse_events": [
      {"window": "overall",
       "values": {"Experimental Group A: labor analgesia with esketamine": {"dizziness": "12.0%"},
                  "Experimental Group B: labor analgesia alone": {"dizziness": "2.0%"}}}
    ],
    "blinding_check": null,
    "enrollment": {"start": "2020-02", "end": "2022-01"},
    "registration": {"number": "ChiCTR2500104037", "date": null},
    "note": "Group C (no labor analgesia, role other) is not coded (depression 6/99, 6.1%; dizziness 0.0%). 312 women were enrolled and randomized in total; 13 converted to caesarean were excluded, leaving 100, 100 and 99 analysed; per-arm randomized numbers are only in Supplementary Figure S1. TIME AMBIGUOUS: the depression count is the 'incidence of depression (defined as EPDS score ≥ 10) in the postpartum period' (4.0% (4/100) vs 2.0% (2/100), p = 0.223 across three groups) with no time point stated; coded as day 42, the last postpartum assessment, but it may count any postpartum assessment (days 1, 7, 42). EPDS scores (prenatal, postpartum day 1, 7, 42) and VAS pain (2 h, day 1, 2, 7) are shown only in bar graphs (Figures 1 and 4) without printed values. Dizziness is printed only as percentages of each group (Group A 12.0%, Group B 2.0%), copied as printed; safety was monitored from the start of analgesia until 2 h postpartum (window coded overall). Hallucinations/dissociative symptoms, nausea and vomiting are reported only as not significantly different (Supplementary Table S3). Open-label trial with outcome assessors not involved in intrapartum care. Enrollment dates from Results. Registered retrospectively; no registration date given."
  },
  {
    "trial": "T054",
    "source": "fulltext",
    "arms": {
      "Group S (esketamine + butorphanol)": {"randomized": "80", "analysed": "78"},
      "Group C (butorphanol)": {"randomized": "80", "analysed": "77"}
    },
    "depression": [
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": -1, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 1 (Preoperative EPDS score)",
       "values": {"Group S (esketamine + butorphanol)": {"median": "3", "q1": "2", "q3": "4", "n": null},
                  "Group C (butorphanol)": {"median": "3", "q1": "2", "q3": "4", "n": null}}},
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": 0, "form": "difference",
       "location": "Results, EPDS scores at different time points (text, postoperative 8 h; Fig. 2 has no printed values)",
       "estimate": null, "lower": "1", "upper": "2", "level": "0.95", "scale": null,
       "values": {"Group S (esketamine + butorphanol)": {"n": null}, "Group C (butorphanol)": {"n": null}}},
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": 1, "form": "difference",
       "location": "Results, EPDS scores at different time points (text, postoperative 24 h; Fig. 2 has no printed values)",
       "estimate": null, "lower": "1", "upper": "2", "level": "0.95", "scale": null,
       "values": {"Group S (esketamine + butorphanol)": {"n": null}, "Group C (butorphanol)": {"n": null}}},
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": 4, "form": "difference",
       "location": "Results, EPDS scores at different time points (text, postoperative 96 h; Fig. 2 has no printed values)",
       "estimate": null, "lower": "1", "upper": "2", "level": "0.95", "scale": null,
       "values": {"Group S (esketamine + butorphanol)": {"n": null}, "Group C (butorphanol)": {"n": null}}},
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": 7, "form": "difference",
       "location": "Results, EPDS scores at different time points (text, one week; Fig. 2 has no printed values)",
       "estimate": null, "lower": "1", "upper": "2", "level": "0.95", "scale": null,
       "values": {"Group S (esketamine + butorphanol)": {"n": null}, "Group C (butorphanol)": {"n": null}}}
    ],
    "pain": [
      {"measure": "PCIA presses in 24 h", "day": 1, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 2 (PCA compressions)",
       "values": {"Group S (esketamine + butorphanol)": {"median": "10", "q1": "5", "q3": "22", "n": null},
                  "Group C (butorphanol)": {"median": "12", "q1": "6", "q3": "18", "n": null}}},
      {"measure": "VAS", "day": 1, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 2 (VAS scores, 24 h)",
       "values": {"Group S (esketamine + butorphanol)": {"median": "2", "q1": "2", "q3": "3", "n": null},
                  "Group C (butorphanol)": {"median": "3", "q1": "2", "q3": "3", "n": null}}}
    ],
    "adverse_events": [
      {"window": "postoperative",
       "values": {"Group S (esketamine + butorphanol)": {"dizziness": "15", "nightmare": "2", "agitation": "2", "hallucination": "1", "visual": "0"},
                  "Group C (butorphanol)": {"dizziness": "4", "nightmare": "1", "agitation": "2", "hallucination": "0", "visual": "1"}}}
    ],
    "blinding_check": null,
    "enrollment": {"start": "2022-01", "end": "2022-08"},
    "registration": {"number": "ChiCTR2100054435", "date": "2021-12-27"},
    "note": "Tables list Group C before Group S. Randomized per arm from the sample-size paragraph ('a total of 160 patients (80 patients per arm) were recruited'); Results: 160 randomized, 5 excluded (3 excessive blood loss, 2 switched to general anaesthesia), analysed S 78, C 77. Per-time n is not printed. CI ONLY: postoperative EPDS (8 h, 24 h, 96 h, one week) is plotted only in Fig. 2 without printed values; the text gives for each time only 'P < 0.001, 95 % CI (1−2)', with no point estimate and no stated scale (non-normal data were analysed with Mann-Whitney; the CI is positive while group S scored lower, so it appears to be group C minus group S). Coded as difference with estimate and scale null. Table 2 does not label its form; median (IQR) inferred from Table 1's footnote and the Methods. PCA presses: the text gives group S as '10 (5–22.25)', Table 2 as '10 (5−22)'; the table's value is used. VAS at 48 h was planned but not reported (Table 2 has 8 h, 24 h, 96 h). Remedial (diclofenac) analgesia over an unstated postoperative period: C 19 % (15/77), S 23 % (18/78), not coded. Adverse events (Table 5, after surgery): restlessness coded as agitation, blurred vision as visual. Enrollment dates from Methods (Results give none)."
  },
  {
    "trial": "T057",
    "source": "fulltext",
    "arms": {
      "Low-dose group": {"randomized": null, "analysed": "97"},
      "High-dose group": {"randomized": null, "analysed": "97"},
      "Control group": {"randomized": null, "analysed": "98"}
    },
    "depression": [
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": -1, "form": "mean_sd", "location": "Table 3 (Prenatal 1 day)",
       "values": {"Low-dose group": {"mean": "7.5", "sd": "2.2", "n": "97"},
                  "High-dose group": {"mean": "7.2", "sd": "2.3", "n": "97"},
                  "Control group": {"mean": "7.3", "sd": "2.3", "n": "98"}}},
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": 2, "form": "mean_sd", "location": "Table 3 (Postoperative 2 day)",
       "values": {"Low-dose group": {"mean": "7.2", "sd": "2.2", "n": "97"},
                  "High-dose group": {"mean": "7.5", "sd": "2.6", "n": "97"},
                  "Control group": {"mean": "8.8", "sd": "3.4", "n": "98"}}},
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": 7, "form": "mean_sd", "location": "Table 3 (Postoperative 7 day)",
       "values": {"Low-dose group": {"mean": "7.3", "sd": "3.1", "n": "97"},
                  "High-dose group": {"mean": "7.0", "sd": "2.9", "n": "97"},
                  "Control group": {"mean": "9.1", "sd": "3.3", "n": "98"}}},
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": 42, "form": "mean_sd", "location": "Table 3 (Postoperative 42 day)",
       "values": {"Low-dose group": {"mean": "8.3", "sd": "3.1", "n": "97"},
                  "High-dose group": {"mean": "8.1", "sd": "3.0", "n": "97"},
                  "Control group": {"mean": "8.8", "sd": "3.6", "n": "98"}}},
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": 2, "form": "count", "definition": "postpartum depression, EPDS ≥ 13",
       "location": "Table 4 (Postoperative 2 day)",
       "values": {"Low-dose group": {"events": "5", "n": "97"},
                  "High-dose group": {"events": "6", "n": "97"},
                  "Control group": {"events": "14", "n": "98"}}},
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": 7, "form": "count", "definition": "postpartum depression, EPDS ≥ 13",
       "location": "Table 4 (Postoperative 7 day)",
       "values": {"Low-dose group": {"events": "8", "n": "97"},
                  "High-dose group": {"events": "5", "n": "97"},
                  "Control group": {"events": "16", "n": "98"}}},
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": 42, "form": "count", "definition": "postpartum depression, EPDS ≥ 13",
       "location": "Table 4 (Postoperative 42 day)",
       "values": {"Low-dose group": {"events": "11", "n": "97"},
                  "High-dose group": {"events": "10", "n": "97"},
                  "Control group": {"events": "17", "n": "98"}}}
    ],
    "pain": [
      {"measure": "VAS pain", "day": 1, "form": "mean_sd", "location": "Table 2 (Postoperative 24 hours)",
       "values": {"Low-dose group": {"mean": "3.1", "sd": "1.0", "n": "97"},
                  "High-dose group": {"mean": "2.7", "sd": "0.8", "n": "97"},
                  "Control group": {"mean": "3.5", "sd": "1.2", "n": "98"}}},
      {"measure": "VAS pain", "day": 2, "form": "mean_sd", "location": "Table 2 (Postoperative 48 hours)",
       "values": {"Low-dose group": {"mean": "2.1", "sd": "0.6", "n": "97"},
                  "High-dose group": {"mean": "2.1", "sd": "0.7", "n": "97"},
                  "Control group": {"mean": "2.4", "sd": "1.1", "n": "98"}}},
      {"measure": "rescue acetaminophen", "day": 2, "form": "count",
       "definition": "rescue acetaminophen (given when VAS > 4) within the first 2 days postoperatively",
       "location": "Table 2 (Rescue rate, n (%)); Results, Comparison of postoperative analgesia",
       "values": {"Low-dose group": {"events": "15", "n": "97"},
                  "High-dose group": {"events": "14", "n": "97"},
                  "Control group": {"events": "27", "n": "98"}}}
    ],
    "adverse_events": [
      {"window": "postoperative",
       "values": {"Low-dose group": {"hallucination": "2", "dizziness": "7", "visual": "2"},
                  "High-dose group": {"hallucination": "9", "dizziness": "7", "visual": "9"},
                  "Control group": {"hallucination": "0", "dizziness": "2", "visual": "0"}}}
    ],
    "blinding_check": null,
    "enrollment": {"start": "2021-01", "end": "2023-01"},
    "registration": null,
    "note": "The source calls the high-dose arm 'How-dose group' (a typo for High-dose). Per-arm randomized numbers are not printed: 315 were enrolled, with '8 lost to follow-up in Low-dose group and high-dose group, and 7 in control group', leaving 97, 97 and 98 analysed; the tables' column n's are used for every entry. EPDS 'Prenatal 1 day' (Methods: preoperative day 1) coded as day -1. Table 4 counts are postpartum depression, defined in Methods as EPDS ≥ 13. The rescue rate is 'the rate of rescue analgesia within the first 2 days postoperatively', coded as day 2. VAS at 6 h and 12 h not coded. Adverse events from Table 7, window '0-2 h' (Results: within 2 hours after the esketamine injection, which was given after delivery during caesarean; Methods: 0–2 hours postoperatively), coded postoperative; diplopia coded as visual. In Table 7 the low-dose percentages do not match the counts (hallucination '2 (7.2)', diplopia '2 (8)', drowsiness '6 (10.3)' with n = 97); counts copied as printed. Adverse events at 2.1–48 h are reported only as not significantly different. Enrollment dates from Methods (Results give none). No registration number given (only IRB protocol 20200060)."
  },
  {
    "trial": "T063",
    "source": "fulltext",
    "arms": {
      "Esketamine group": {"randomized": "182", "analysed": "182"},
      "Placebo (saline) group": {"randomized": "182", "analysed": "182"}
    },
    "depression": [
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": -1, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 1 (Median (IQR) Edinburgh postnatal depression scale)",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"median": "10", "q1": "10", "q3": "12", "n": "182"},
                  "Placebo (saline) group": {"median": "10", "q1": "10", "q3": "12", "n": "182"}}},
      {"measure": "MINI 6.0.0 depression module (major depressive episode)", "day": 42, "form": "count",
       "definition": "major depressive episode diagnosed with the MINI 6.0.0",
       "location": "Table 3 (primary endpoint); denominators from Results, Efficacy outcomes",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"events": "12", "n": "180"},
                  "Placebo (saline) group": {"events": "46", "n": "181"}}},
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": 7, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 3 (Median (IQR) EPDS score at 7 days)",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"median": "5", "q1": "2", "q3": "8", "n": null},
                  "Placebo (saline) group": {"median": "9", "q1": "5", "q3": "11", "n": null}}},
      {"measure": "EPDS", "day": 42, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 3 (Median (IQR) EPDS score at 42 days)",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"median": "5", "q1": "3", "q3": "8", "n": null},
                  "Placebo (saline) group": {"median": "8", "q1": "5", "q3": "11", "n": null}}},
      {"measure": "HAMD-17", "day": 42, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 3 (Median (IQR) Hamilton depression rating scale score at 42 days)",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"median": "5", "q1": "2", "q3": "8", "n": null},
                  "Placebo (saline) group": {"median": "10", "q1": "5", "q3": "17", "n": null}}}
    ],
    "pain": [
      {"measure": "NRS pain", "day": 1, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 3 (NRS for pain at 1 day, at rest)",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"median": "2", "q1": "1", "q3": "3", "n": null},
                  "Placebo (saline) group": {"median": "2", "q1": "1", "q3": "3", "n": null}}},
      {"measure": "NRS pain", "day": 1, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 3 (NRS for pain at 1 day, with movement)",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"median": "3", "q1": "2", "q3": "5", "n": null},
                  "Placebo (saline) group": {"median": "4", "q1": "3", "q3": "6", "n": null}}}
    ],
    "adverse_events": [
      {"window": "intraoperative",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"dizziness": "48", "visual": "9", "hallucination": "6", "agitation": "6"},
                  "Placebo (saline) group": {"dizziness": "17", "visual": "0", "hallucination": "0", "agitation": "5"}}},
      {"window": "postoperative",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"dizziness": "32", "visual": "4", "hallucination": "3"},
                  "Placebo (saline) group": {"dizziness": "24", "visual": "0", "hallucination": "0"}}},
      {"window": "overall",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"psychiatric_any": "82"},
                  "Placebo (saline) group": {"psychiatric_any": "40"}}}
    ],
    "blinding_check": null,
    "enrollment": {"start": "2020-06-19", "end": "2022-06-21"},
    "registration": null,
    "note": "All 364 randomized (182 per arm) were in the intention-to-treat analysis; 2 esketamine and 1 placebo participants withdrew consent (per protocol 361). Table 3 prints, in parentheses marked ‡, the number of participants with missing data, not n: EPDS 7 d 1 and 1; EPDS 42 d 2 and 1; HAMD-17 42 d 33 and 28; NRS at 1 day at rest 0 and 1, with movement 0 and 1 (esketamine, placebo); n is left null for these. Major depressive episode n from the text (6.7% (12/180) vs 25.4% (46/181)), RR 0.26 (0.14 to 0.48); with missing data imputed (worst case for esketamine) 14 (7.7) vs 46 (25.3) of 182, RR 0.30 (0.17 to 0.53), not coded. Table 3 median differences (esketamine minus placebo, Hodges-Lehmann): EPDS 7 d −3 (−4 to −2); EPDS 42 d −3 (−4 to −2); HAMD-17 −4 (−6 to −3); NRS at rest and with movement −1 (−1 to 0). Exploratory counts (EPDS ≤ 9, EPDS reductions ≥ 4 and ≥ 50%, HAMD-17 ≤ 7) count non-depressed or improved participants and are not coded. Pain at 1 day (interview 18 to 30 h after childbirth) has two NRS pain entries, at rest and with movement, told apart by location. Adverse events (Table 4): window 1 is 'during and within 1 hour after study drug infusion' (a 40-minute infusion started after cord clamping, vaginal or caesarean birth), coded intraoperative; window 2 is 'at 2 hours after study drug infusion', coded postoperative; 'Hallucination or daymare' (merged by the authors) coded as hallucination, though the text says five mothers reported hallucinations during and within an hour after infusion; diplopia coded as visual; agitation is RASS ≥ 2. The combined neuropsychiatric rows of Table 4 (61 vs 20; 37 vs 24) are not coded because their parts are. The overall incidence of neuropsychiatric adverse events (text: 45.1% (82/182) vs 22.0% (40/182)) includes dizziness and is coded psychiatric_any with window overall; the text also says no neuropsychiatric symptoms were observed on postpartum day 1. Enrollment dates are the screening period in Results; the last participant was followed up on 3 August 2022. No registration number in the text."
  },
  {
    "trial": "T084",
    "source": "abstract",
    "arms": {
      "S-ketamine": {"randomized": null, "analysed": null},
      "Normal saline": {"randomized": null, "analysed": null}
    },
    "depression": [
      {"measure": "PHQ-9", "day": 1, "form": "difference", "location": "abstract (Results)",
       "estimate": "-1.0", "lower": "-2.0", "upper": "0", "level": "0.95", "scale": "mean_difference",
       "values": {"S-ketamine": {"n": null}, "Normal saline": {"n": null}}}
    ],
    "pain": [],
    "adverse_events": [],
    "blinding_check": null,
    "enrollment": null,
    "registration": {"number": "ChiCTR 2200065298", "date": null},
    "note": "Abstract only; 230 patients were enrolled and randomized, with no per-arm numbers. PHQ-9 on POD 1: 'a reduction in PHQ-9 scores (MD -1.0 [95% CI, -2.0 to 0]; p = 0.002)'. MD is not defined (mean or median difference; scale coded mean_difference) and the subtraction order is not stated: the QoR-15 'MD -2.2 [95% CI: -4.3 to -0.7]' accompanies 'higher QoR-15 scores' with S-ketamine, so the sign convention is unclear; a CI reaching 0 with p = 0.002 is also inconsistent. Treatment response (≥ 50% decrease in PHQ-9 from baseline) on POD 1: OR 1.4 (0.8 to 2.6), p = 0.017, not coded (a response, not a count of depressed participants). PHQ-9 on POD 3 and 7 reported only as similar. Adverse events reported only as comparable."
  },
  {
    "trial": "T085",
    "source": "fulltext",
    "arms": {
      "Study group (esketamine)": {"randomized": "70", "analysed": "70"},
      "Control group (normal saline)": {"randomized": "70", "analysed": "70"}
    },
    "depression": [
      {"measure": "PHQ-9 (>= 10 = depressive symptoms)", "day": -1, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 1 (Preoperative PHQ-9 score)",
       "values": {"Study group (esketamine)": {"median": "2", "q1": "1", "q3": "4", "n": "70"},
                  "Control group (normal saline)": {"median": "3", "q1": "1", "q3": "5", "n": "70"}}},
      {"measure": "PHQ-9 (>= 10 = depressive symptoms)", "day": -1, "form": "count",
       "definition": "preoperative depressive symptom, PHQ-9 ≥ 10",
       "location": "Table 1 (Preoperative depressive symptom)",
       "values": {"Study group (esketamine)": {"events": "6", "n": "70"},
                  "Control group (normal saline)": {"events": "3", "n": "70"}}},
      {"measure": "PHQ-9 (>= 10 = depressive symptoms)", "day": 7, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 3 (PHQ-9, on POD 7)",
       "values": {"Study group (esketamine)": {"median": "2", "q1": "1", "q3": "4", "n": null},
                  "Control group (normal saline)": {"median": "3", "q1": "1", "q3": "6.5", "n": null}}},
      {"measure": "PHQ-9 (>= 10 = depressive symptoms)", "day": 7, "form": "count",
       "definition": "postoperative depressive symptom, PHQ-9 ≥ 10",
       "location": "Table 3 (Postoperative depressive symptom, on POD 7)",
       "values": {"Study group (esketamine)": {"events": "5", "n": null},
                  "Control group (normal saline)": {"events": "6", "n": null}}}
    ],
    "pain": [
      {"measure": "NRS pain at designated time points", "day": 1, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 3 (NRS, at 24h)",
       "values": {"Study group (esketamine)": {"median": "1.3", "q1": "1", "q3": "3", "n": "70"},
                  "Control group (normal saline)": {"median": "2", "q1": "1", "q3": "3", "n": "70"}}},
      {"measure": "NRS pain at designated time points", "day": 2, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 3 (NRS, at 48h)",
       "values": {"Study group (esketamine)": {"median": "1", "q1": "1", "q3": "2", "n": "70"},
                  "Control group (normal saline)": {"median": "1", "q1": "1", "q3": "2", "n": "70"}}},
      {"measure": "total morphine consumption (PACU rescue + PCA) in the first 24 h", "day": 1, "form": "median_iqr",
       "location": "Table 3 (Morphine, at 24h (mg))",
       "values": {"Study group (esketamine)": {"median": "4", "q1": "3", "q3": "8", "n": "70"},
                  "Control group (normal saline)": {"median": "5.5", "q1": "3", "q3": "8", "n": "70"}}}
    ],
    "adverse_events": [
      {"window": "emergence",
       "values": {"Study group (esketamine)": {"hallucination": "2", "agitation": "4", "nightmare": "0", "dissociation": "0", "visual": "0"},
                  "Control group (normal saline)": {"hallucination": "0", "agitation": "0", "nightmare": "0", "dissociation": "0", "visual": "0"}}}
    ],
    "blinding_check": null,
    "enrollment": {"start": "2022-09", "end": "2024-03"},
    "registration": {"number": "ChiCTR 2200061021", "date": "2022-06-15"},
    "note": "PHQ-9 is reported both as scores (median, IQR) and as counts of PHQ-9 ≥ 10 at baseline and on POD 7, so each of those times has two entries, one per form. Table 3's columns say n = 70, but the POD 7 percentages (5, 7.2%; 6, 8.7%) fit 69 assessed per arm, so n is left null for the POD 7 entries; the other Table 3 entries take the column n. Table 3 median differences (study minus control, Hodges-Lehmann): PHQ-9 POD 7 −1 (−2 to 0); NRS 24 h 0 (−1 to 0); NRS 48 h 0 (0 to 0); morphine 24 h −1 (−2 to 0). The control NRS at 24 h is printed '2 (1, 3)'. Adverse events are for the PACU stay (Table 5), coded as window emergence: 'Delirium' 4 vs 0 (four study-group patients were confused and given dexmedetomidine) coded as agitation; the zeros for nightmare, dissociation and diplopia come from the text ('no cases of nightmares, dissociation, diplopia, or hypoxemia were recorded'); dizziness was planned but not reported. Chronic pain (NRS ≥ 4) at 3 months, 1 (1.4%) vs 0 (Table 4, n = 67 and 69), is outside the coded days. Enrollment dates from Methods ('conducted ... between September 2022 and March 2024'); Results give none."
  },
  {
    "trial": "T093",
    "source": "library",
    "arms": {
      "Esketamine": {"randomized": "54", "analysed": "52"},
      "Placebo (20 mL normal saline)": {"randomized": "54", "analysed": "52"}
    },
    "depression": [
      {"measure": "MADRS (response = 50% reduction on POD 3; remission <=10)", "day": -1, "form": "median_iqr",
       "location": "Table 1 (MADRS score, median (IQR))",
       "values": {"Esketamine": {"median": "20.00", "q1": "17.00", "q3": "23.25", "n": "52"},
                  "Placebo (20 mL normal saline)": {"median": "21.00", "q1": "17.00", "q3": "24.00", "n": "52"}}},
      {"measure": "PHQ-9", "day": -1, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 1 (PHQ-9 score, median (IQR))",
       "values": {"Esketamine": {"median": "10.00", "q1": "8.00", "q3": "12.00", "n": "52"},
                  "Placebo (20 mL normal saline)": {"median": "10.00", "q1": "7.75", "q3": "12.00", "n": "52"}}},
      {"measure": "MADRS (response = 50% reduction on POD 3; remission <=10)", "day": 1, "form": "difference",
       "location": "Results 3.1, Efficacy outcomes (text, postoperative day 1)",
       "estimate": "2.7", "lower": "1.0", "upper": "6.9", "level": "0.95", "scale": "odds_ratio",
       "values": {"Esketamine": {"n": null}, "Placebo (20 mL normal saline)": {"n": null}}},
      {"measure": "MADRS (response = 50% reduction on POD 3; remission <=10)", "day": 3, "form": "count",
       "definition": "MADRS response, ≥ 50 % reduction from baseline (events are responders, not participants with depression)",
       "location": "Table 2 (MADRS-based response at postoperative day 3); Results 3.1",
       "values": {"Esketamine": {"events": "14", "n": "52"},
                  "Placebo (20 mL normal saline)": {"events": "7", "n": "52"}}}
    ],
    "pain": [
      {"measure": "NRS pain at 48 h (severe pain = any NRS >=7)", "day": 2, "form": "count",
       "definition": "severe pain, any NRS ≥ 7 (Table 2 row: 'Servere pain within 72 h')",
       "location": "Table 2 (Servere pain within 72 h); Results 3.1 text",
       "values": {"Esketamine": {"events": "0", "n": "52"},
                  "Placebo (20 mL normal saline)": {"events": "0", "n": "52"}}}
    ],
    "adverse_events": [
      {"window": "postoperative",
       "values": {"Esketamine": {"dizziness": "21", "hallucination": "0", "visual": "1", "dissociation": "0"},
                  "Placebo (20 mL normal saline)": {"dizziness": "16", "hallucination": "0", "visual": "0", "dissociation": "0"}}}
    ],
    "blinding_check": null,
    "enrollment": {"start": "2023-09-06", "end": "2024-07-08"},
    "registration": {"number": "ChiCTR2300071062", "date": "2023-05-04"},
    "note": "108 randomized (54 per arm); surgery was cancelled in 4, leaving 52 per arm in the modified intention-to-treat analysis (last observation carried forward). RESPONSE, NOT DEPRESSION: postoperative MADRS is reported only as response (≥ 50 % reduction from baseline). The day 3 count (Table 2: 14 (27) vs 7 (13), OR 2.37 (0.87 to 6.47); text: 27 % (14/52) vs 13 % (7/52), odds ratio 2.4 [0.9 to 6.6]) counts responders, the opposite direction to a count of depressed participants. With missing data imputed (Table 2 footnote: two patients missing at day 3): 13 (25) vs 7 (13), OR 2.14 (0.78 to 5.91), not coded. The day 1 entry is from the text: 'the esketamine group had a significantly higher proportion of responders (33 %) than the placebo group (15 %) (odds ratio 2.7, 95 % CI, 1.0 to 6.9)', an odds ratio for response, esketamine versus placebo; counts not printed. Not coded because not tied to a day: GLMM group main effects for response OR 5.95 (0.49 to 71.71) and remission OR 1.45 (0.13 to 16.25), and MMRM group main effects for MADRS scores MD -0.08 (−1.83 to 1.67) and change from baseline MD -2.54 (−4.47 to −0.61). MADRS by visit (postoperative days 1 to 5, 4 and 12 weeks) is only in Fig. 3 and the supplement, without printed values. PHQ-9 (not in the design) is reported at baseline only. Severe pain: the Methods evaluate pain at 48 postoperative hours with severe pain as any NRS ≥ 7; Table 2's row is 'Servere pain within 72 h' (0 vs 0) and the text says no patient had a postoperative NRS ≥ 7; coded as day 2. NRS scores are only in eTable 6. Adverse events (Table 3, within 3 postoperative days): diplopia coded as visual; Delirium (3D-CAM) 2 (4) vs 1 (2) not coded (daily postoperative delirium screening, not emergence agitation); manic (YMRS ≥ 5) and psychotic (BPRS) symptoms 0 vs 0 not coded."
  },
  {
    "trial": "T096",
    "source": "fulltext",
    "arms": {
      "Ketamine group": {"randomized": null, "analysed": "18"},
      "Placebo group (normal saline in apple juice)": {"randomized": null, "analysed": "17"}
    },
    "depression": [
      {"measure": "PHQ-9", "day": -1, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 2 (PHQ-9 Scores, Preoperative)",
       "values": {"Ketamine group": {"median": "7.5", "q1": "3.75", "q3": "9.75", "n": null},
                  "Placebo group (normal saline in apple juice)": {"median": "7", "q1": "3", "q3": "17", "n": null}}},
      {"measure": "PHQ-9", "day": 7, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 2 (PHQ-9 Scores, POD7); n from Results text",
       "values": {"Ketamine group": {"median": "2", "q1": "2", "q3": "5", "n": "15"},
                  "Placebo group (normal saline in apple juice)": {"median": "3", "q1": "1.75", "q3": "5", "n": "14"}}},
      {"measure": "PHQ-9", "day": 30, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 2 (PHQ-9 Scores, POD30); n from Results text",
       "values": {"Ketamine group": {"median": "7", "q1": "4", "q3": "12.5", "n": "13"},
                  "Placebo group (normal saline in apple juice)": {"median": "5", "q1": "2.5", "q3": "8", "n": "13"}}}
    ],
    "pain": [
      {"measure": "NRS pain intensity (maximum, minimum, average over past 24 h)", "day": 1, "form": "median_iqr",
       "location": "Table 2 (Pain Intensity Scale Scores, POD1)",
       "values": {"Ketamine group": {"median": "5", "q1": "3.75", "q3": "7.25", "n": null},
                  "Placebo group (normal saline in apple juice)": {"median": "6", "q1": "5", "q3": "8", "n": null}}},
      {"measure": "Opioid use (inpatient administration record; average daily use at follow-up calls), morphine equivalents", "day": 1, "form": "median_iqr",
       "location": "Table 2 (Postoperative Opioid Use (MED), POD1 (Intravenous + Oral))",
       "values": {"Ketamine group": {"median": "112.75", "q1": "64.5", "q3": "222.75", "n": null},
                  "Placebo group (normal saline in apple juice)": {"median": "125", "q1": "103.5", "q3": "202.5", "n": null}}},
      {"measure": "Opioid use (inpatient administration record; average daily use at follow-up calls), morphine equivalents", "day": 2, "form": "median_iqr",
       "location": "Table 2 (Postoperative Opioid Use (MED), POD2 (Intravenous + Oral))",
       "values": {"Ketamine group": {"median": "61.25", "q1": "25", "q3": "92.5", "n": null},
                  "Placebo group (normal saline in apple juice)": {"median": "99", "q1": "39", "q3": "126.75", "n": null}}}
    ],
    "adverse_events": [],
    "blinding_check": null,
    "enrollment": null,
    "registration": {"number": "NCT04646694", "date": "2020-11-30"},
    "note": "40 were randomized in total (per-arm numbers not printed); 5 were excluded after randomization for not meeting inclusion criteria, leaving 18 ketamine and 17 placebo analysed. The n at POD 7 (15, 14) and POD 30 (13, 13) come from the Results text; preoperative and POD 1 n are not printed for Table 2 (Table 1 lists 18 and 17). PHQ-9 was planned at POD 1 but Table 2 reports it only preoperatively, at POD 7 and at POD 30. The pain intensity row does not say whether it is the maximum, minimum or average NRS. Opioid use is coded as the intravenous + oral total for POD 1 and for POD 2 (each day's use, morphine equivalents); components: POD 1 intravenous 99 (48.75–178.5) vs 87 (72–164.25), oral 25 (3.75–56.625) vs 30 (0–55); POD 2 intravenous 0 (0–63.75) vs 0 (0–69), oral 26.5 (13.75–71.25) vs 40 (32.5–102.5). PROMIS pain interference is reported only preoperatively, at POD 7 and at POD 30. Side effects are reported only as Generic Assessment of Side Effects Scale scores (POD 1: 2 (0–7.5) vs 3 (0–6); POD 3: 0 (0−12) vs 0.5 (0–3.75)) and psychotomimetic effects only as not significantly different, so no counts are coded. Enrollment: 'over a 3 year period', no dates given."
  },
  {
    "trial": "T122",
    "source": "fulltext",
    "arms": {
      "Esketamine group": {"randomized": "70", "analysed": "69"},
      "Control group": {"randomized": "70", "analysed": "70"}
    },
    "depression": [
      {"measure": "PHQ-9 (>=10)", "day": -1, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 1 (Preoperative PHQ-9 score)",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"median": "2", "q1": "0", "q3": "5", "n": "69"},
                  "Control group": {"median": "3.5", "q1": "1", "q3": "6", "n": "70"}}},
      {"measure": "PHQ-9 (>=10)", "day": -1, "form": "count", "definition": "preoperative depressive symptom, PHQ-9 ≥ 10",
       "location": "Table 1 (Preoperative depressive symptom)",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"events": "7", "n": "69"},
                  "Control group": {"events": "9", "n": "70"}}},
      {"measure": "PHQ-9 (>=10)", "day": 7, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 4 (PHQ score, POD 7)",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"median": "3", "q1": "1", "q3": "6", "n": null},
                  "Control group": {"median": "4", "q1": "1", "q3": "7", "n": null}}},
      {"measure": "PHQ-9 (>=10)", "day": 7, "form": "count", "definition": "postoperative depressive symptom, PHQ-9 ≥ 10",
       "location": "Table 4 (Postoperative depressive symptom, POD 7)",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"events": "9", "n": null},
                  "Control group": {"events": "10", "n": null}}}
    ],
    "pain": [
      {"measure": "verbal NRS pain", "day": 1, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 4 (NRS, 24 h)",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"median": "2", "q1": "1", "q3": "3", "n": "69"},
                  "Control group": {"median": "2", "q1": "1", "q3": "3", "n": "70"}}},
      {"measure": "verbal NRS pain", "day": 2, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 4 (NRS, 48 h)",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"median": "1", "q1": "1", "q3": "2", "n": "69"},
                  "Control group": {"median": "1", "q1": "1", "q3": "2", "n": "70"}}},
      {"measure": "morphine consumption over 48 h", "day": 2, "form": "median_iqr", "location": "Table 4 (Morphine, 48 h (mg))",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"median": "6", "q1": "3", "q3": "8", "n": "69"},
                  "Control group": {"median": "3.5", "q1": "1", "q3": "8", "n": "70"}}}
    ],
    "adverse_events": [
      {"window": "emergence",
       "values": {"Esketamine group": {"agitation": "4", "hallucination": "0", "nightmare": "0", "dissociation": "0", "visual": "0"},
                  "Control group": {"agitation": "1", "hallucination": "0", "nightmare": "0", "dissociation": "0", "visual": "0"}}}
    ],
    "blinding_check": null,
    "enrollment": {"start": "2022-09", "end": "2024-09"},
    "registration": {"number": "ChiCTR 2200062726", "date": "2022-08-16"},
    "note": "Randomized per arm from Methods ('we enrolled 70 patients per group'); Results: 140 randomized, one esketamine patient lost to follow-up, 139 in the intention-to-treat analysis. PHQ-9 is reported both as scores (median, IQR) and as counts of PHQ-9 ≥ 10 at baseline and on POD 7, so each of those times has two entries, one per form. Table 4's columns say n = 69 and 70, but the POD 7 percentages (9, 13.4%; 10, 14.5%) fit 67 and 69 assessed, so n is left null for the POD 7 entries; the other entries take the column n. Table 4 effects (esketamine vs control): PHQ score POD 7 median difference 0 (−1 to 1); depressive symptom POD 7 RR 0.92 (0.35 to 2.42); NRS 24 h 0 (0 to 0.5); NRS 48 h 0 (0 to 0); morphine 48 h 1 (0 to 3). Morphine over the first 48 h coded as day 2; NRS at 1 h and 2 h and morphine in PACU not coded. The preoperative PHQ-9 score was lower in the esketamine group (P = 0.036). Adverse events are for the PACU stay (Table 3), coded as window emergence: Delirium 4 (5.8) vs 1 (1.4) coded as agitation; the zeros for hallucination, nightmare, dissociation and diplopia come from the text ('No cases of hallucinations, nightmares, dissociation, diplopia, or low oxygen saturation were documented'); dizziness was planned but not reported. Subacute pain (POD 7) and chronic pain (3 months) are outside the coded days. Enrollment dates from Results."
  }
]
