[
  {
    "id": "T004",
    "eligible": true,
    "exclusion_reason": null,
    "timing_comparison": false,
    "arms": [
      {
        "name": "Propofol group",
        "role": "control"
      },
      {
        "name": "Coadministration group",
        "role": "ketamine",
        "drug": "ketamine",
        "route": "iv",
        "bolus_mg_per_kg": null,
        "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
        "infusion_hours": null,
        "pump": false,
        "dose_note": "1-3 mL of solution (ketamine 0.98 mg/mL) before local anesthetic, then infusion of propofol 9.8 mg/mL + ketamine 0.98 mg/mL at 0.3-0.5 mL/kg/min as printed, titrated to OAA/S 4",
        "start": "at_induction",
        "end": "end_of_surgery"
      }
    ],
    "anesthesia": "sedation",
    "conscious_dosing": "some",
    "late_dosing": null,
    "setting": "surgery",
    "procedure": "elective ambulatory surgery under monitored anesthesia care",
    "depression_selection": "unselected",
    "selection_criterion": "",
    "age_group": "adult",
    "depression_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "VAS mood state depressed/elated (repeated in PACU)",
        "code": "OTHER",
        "days": [
          0
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "pain_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "100-mm VAS pain in PACU (rest/movement not stated)",
        "code": "other",
        "days": [
          0
        ],
        "primary": false
      },
      {
        "measure": "5-point pain rating at rest, daily by telephone after discharge",
        "code": "rest",
        "days": [
          1,
          2,
          3,
          4,
          5
        ],
        "primary": false
      },
      {
        "measure": "5-point pain rating during physical activity, daily by telephone",
        "code": "movement",
        "days": [
          1,
          2,
          3,
          4,
          5
        ],
        "primary": false
      },
      {
        "measure": "perioperative fentanyl and PACU morphine doses",
        "code": "opioid",
        "days": [
          0
        ],
        "primary": false
      },
      {
        "measure": "hydrocodone consumed after discharge",
        "code": "opioid",
        "days": [
          1,
          2,
          3,
          4,
          5
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
    "blinding": {
      "participants": true,
      "assessors": true
    },
    "registration": null,
    "enrollment": {
      "start": null,
      "end": null
    },
    "ethics_approval": true,
    "planned_n": null,
    "country": "USA",
    "centers": "single",
    "note": "No general anesthesia: propofol sedation (MAC, OAA/S 4, spontaneous breathing) with local anesthetic; the study drug was the sedative itself, from a bolus before local anesthetic injection through an infusion maintained during surgery (stop presumed at end of surgery), so ketamine was given to conscious patients. start 'at_induction' means the start of sedation. Infusion units printed as mL/kg/min look garbled, so the rate is not converted. Only depression measure is the depressed/elated mood VAS repeated in PACU, counted as a depression measure (OTHER). late_dosing null: no GA. Ages not stated; 40 recruited, no planned size."
  },
  {
    "id": "T005",
    "eligible": true,
    "exclusion_reason": null,
    "timing_comparison": false,
    "arms": [
      {
        "name": "Group A",
        "role": "ketamine",
        "drug": "ketamine",
        "route": "iv",
        "bolus_mg_per_kg": 1.0,
        "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
        "infusion_hours": null,
        "pump": false,
        "dose_note": "single 1.0 mg/kg with propofol 1.5 mg/kg and fentanyl 2 ug/kg as the induction",
        "start": "at_induction",
        "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
      },
      {
        "name": "Group B",
        "role": "control"
      },
      {
        "name": "Group C",
        "role": "other"
      }
    ],
    "anesthesia": "general",
    "conscious_dosing": "none",
    "late_dosing": false,
    "setting": "surgery",
    "procedure": "orthopedic surgery (reduction of arm or lower limb fracture)",
    "depression_selection": "selected",
    "selection_criterion": "DSM-IV major depression, on antidepressants >1 year",
    "age_group": "adult",
    "depression_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "Hamilton Depression Rating (HDR) score, 21 items",
        "code": "HAMD",
        "days": [
          1,
          3
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "pain_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "100-mm VAS pain every 8 h for 24 h, then every 24 h (end not stated)",
        "code": "other",
        "days": [
          0,
          1
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
    "blinding": {
      "participants": null,
      "assessors": null
    },
    "registration": null,
    "enrollment": {
      "start": null,
      "end": null
    },
    "ethics_approval": true,
    "planned_n": null,
    "country": "Japan",
    "centers": "multi",
    "note": "Ketamine only as part of GA induction (single dose, none later), so conscious_dosing none and late_dosing false. Control (Group B) induced the same way without ketamine. Group C: 25 non-depressed patients chosen as a comparison, not randomized, also given ketamine (role other). HDR called self-report; only blinding statement is that nurses assessing confusion were unaware of the study's purpose. CAM confusion and psychosis emergence recorded. Two hospitals; 70 randomized, no planned size."
  },
  {
    "id": "T006",
    "eligible": true,
    "exclusion_reason": null,
    "timing_comparison": false,
    "arms": [
      {
        "name": "Placebo group",
        "role": "control"
      },
      {
        "name": "Single S(+)-ketamine group",
        "role": "ketamine",
        "drug": "esketamine",
        "route": "iv",
        "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
        "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
        "infusion_hours": null,
        "pump": false,
        "dose_note": "single 0.5 mg/kg over 3 min before incision; saline repeats during surgery",
        "start": "after_induction",
        "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
      },
      {
        "name": "Repeated S(+)-ketamine group",
        "role": "ketamine",
        "drug": "esketamine",
        "route": "iv",
        "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
        "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
        "infusion_hours": null,
        "pump": false,
        "dose_note": "0.5 mg/kg before incision, then 0.2 mg/kg every 20 min until 30 min before end of surgery",
        "start": "after_induction",
        "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
      }
    ],
    "anesthesia": "general_and_regional",
    "conscious_dosing": "none",
    "late_dosing": false,
    "setting": "surgery",
    "procedure": "major abdominal surgery",
    "depression_selection": "unselected",
    "selection_criterion": "",
    "age_group": "adult",
    "depression_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "mood adjectives chosen after awakening (depressed/euphoric, happy/sad)",
        "code": "OTHER",
        "days": [
          0
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "pain_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "VAS pain after awakening, 3, 6 and 24 h (rest/movement not stated)",
        "code": "other",
        "days": [
          0,
          1
        ],
        "primary": false
      },
      {
        "measure": "patients needing additional analgesics (diclofenac, then IV dextropropoxyphene)",
        "code": "other",
        "days": [
          0,
          1
        ],
        "primary": true
      }
    ],
    "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
    "blinding": {
      "participants": true,
      "assessors": true
    },
    "registration": null,
    "enrollment": {
      "start": null,
      "end": null
    },
    "ethics_approval": true,
    "planned_n": 45,
    "country": null,
    "centers": "single",
    "note": "Epidural (ropivacaine) placed awake, then GA induced; S-ketamine given 'before incision' and intraoperatively, read as after induction (not stated in so many words; patients said to be unaware of allocation). Repeated doses stopped 30 min before the end of surgery, so late_dosing false. Postoperative epidural infusion was ropivacaine only. anesthesia: epidural plus GA. Only depression measure is a mood adjective choice after awakening (presence of depressed/sad mood), counted as OTHER. Primary pain outcome from the power calculation. Country not stated; 15 per group planned."
  },
  {
    "id": "T011",
    "eligible": true,
    "exclusion_reason": null,
    "timing_comparison": false,
    "arms": [
      {
        "name": "K group",
        "role": "ketamine",
        "drug": "ketamine",
        "route": "iv",
        "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
        "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": 0.25,
        "infusion_hours": 0.5,
        "pump": false,
        "dose_note": "0.5 mg/kg (A drug 0.05 mL/kg) in the induction sequence 20 s after midazolam 40 ug/kg, before sufentanil and propofol; then 0.25 mg/kg/h for 30 min",
        "start": "at_induction",
        "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
      },
      {
        "name": "C group",
        "role": "control"
      }
    ],
    "anesthesia": "general",
    "conscious_dosing": "none",
    "late_dosing": false,
    "setting": "surgery",
    "procedure": "orthopedic surgery for femoral and tibial fractures",
    "depression_selection": "unselected",
    "selection_criterion": "",
    "age_group": "adult",
    "depression_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "PHQ-9 (administered by trained anesthesiologists)",
        "code": "PHQ9",
        "days": [
          1,
          5
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "pain_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "VAS score (rest/movement not stated)",
        "code": "other",
        "days": [
          1,
          5
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
    "blinding": {
      "participants": true,
      "assessors": true
    },
    "registration": {
      "registry": "ChiCTR",
      "id": "ChiCTR-OCC-14004280",
      "date": null
    },
    "enrollment": {
      "start": "2014-03",
      "end": "2014-09"
    },
    "ethics_approval": true,
    "planned_n": 120,
    "country": "China",
    "centers": "single",
    "note": "Bolus given within the GA induction sequence (after midazolam, before sufentanil/propofol), coded at_induction, so conscious_dosing none; infusion ran 30 min after induction under TIVA. Surgery length not given in the text, but the infusion ended ~30 min after induction of fracture surgery, so late_dosing false. Postoperative PCIA had no ketamine. Power calculation on serum BDNF, so PHQ-9 not primary. Only 'related complications' recorded. Registration printed 'ChicTR-OCC-14004280'."
  },
  {
    "id": "T015",
    "eligible": true,
    "exclusion_reason": null,
    "timing_comparison": false,
    "arms": [
      {
        "name": "Ketamine group",
        "role": "ketamine",
        "drug": "ketamine",
        "route": "iv",
        "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.25,
        "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
        "infusion_hours": null,
        "pump": false,
        "dose_note": "single 0.25 mg/kg in 10 mL, slow IV within 5 min after cord clamping",
        "start": "after_delivery",
        "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
      },
      {
        "name": "Saline group",
        "role": "control"
      }
    ],
    "anesthesia": "neuraxial",
    "conscious_dosing": "some",
    "late_dosing": null,
    "setting": "cesarean",
    "procedure": "elective cesarean delivery under spinal anesthesia",
    "depression_selection": "unselected",
    "selection_criterion": "",
    "age_group": "adult",
    "depression_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "EPDS",
        "code": "EPDS",
        "days": [
          3,
          42
        ],
        "primary": true
      }
    ],
    "pain_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "NRS pain intensity (rest/movement not stated)",
        "code": "other",
        "days": [
          3,
          42
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
    "blinding": {
      "participants": true,
      "assessors": true
    },
    "registration": {
      "registry": "ChiCTR",
      "id": "ChiCTR-IPR-15007159",
      "date": null
    },
    "enrollment": {
      "start": "2015-10-08",
      "end": "2016-03-10"
    },
    "ethics_approval": true,
    "planned_n": 330,
    "country": "China",
    "centers": "single",
    "note": "Single IV dose after cord clamping under spinal anesthesia (no GA), so given to awake patients; late_dosing null. Hallucination, dizziness, drowsiness and diplopia asked at 5 and 15 min after dosing. Ages not stated."
  },
  {
    "id": "T017",
    "eligible": false,
    "exclusion_reason": "no_inert_control",
    "timing_comparison": false,
    "arms": [
      {
        "name": "Group K",
        "role": "ketamine",
        "drug": "ketamine",
        "route": "iv",
        "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
        "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
        "infusion_hours": null,
        "pump": false,
        "dose_note": "single 0.5 mg/kg plus 2 mL saline, 5 min after induction",
        "start": "after_induction",
        "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
      },
      {
        "name": "Group D",
        "role": "other"
      },
      {
        "name": "Group KD",
        "role": "other"
      }
    ],
    "anesthesia": "general",
    "conscious_dosing": "none",
    "late_dosing": false,
    "setting": "surgery",
    "procedure": "laparoscopic gynecologic surgery",
    "depression_selection": "unselected",
    "selection_criterion": "",
    "age_group": "adult",
    "depression_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "PHQ-9 (assessed by an anesthesiologist)",
        "code": "PHQ9",
        "days": [
          1,
          3
        ],
        "primary": true
      }
    ],
    "pain_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "100-mm VAS pain at 1, 6, 24 and 48 h (rest/movement not stated)",
        "code": "other",
        "days": [
          0,
          1,
          2
        ],
        "primary": false
      },
      {
        "measure": "PCA (morphine-ketorolac) consumption over 24 h",
        "code": "opioid",
        "days": [
          1
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
    "blinding": {
      "participants": true,
      "assessors": true
    },
    "registration": {
      "registry": "ClinicalTrials.gov",
      "id": "NCT03194594",
      "date": null
    },
    "enrollment": {
      "start": "2017-08",
      "end": "2018-01"
    },
    "ethics_approval": true,
    "planned_n": 297,
    "country": null,
    "centers": "single",
    "note": "Arms: ketamine 0.5 mg/kg, dexamethasone 0.1 mg/kg (max 8 mg), or both; no saline/placebo arm. KD vs D isolates ketamine only on a dexamethasone background, and D received an active study drug, so no inert control. All doses 5 min after GA induction (single dose). Only 'side effects of the study drugs' named. 'Double-blinded', parties not named. Country not stated."
  },
  {
    "id": "T019",
    "eligible": true,
    "exclusion_reason": null,
    "timing_comparison": false,
    "arms": [
      {
        "name": "Ketamine",
        "role": "ketamine",
        "drug": "ketamine",
        "route": "iv",
        "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.4,
        "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
        "infusion_hours": null,
        "pump": false,
        "dose_note": "single 0.4 mg/kg (ideal body weight) infused over 20 min in PACU",
        "start": "after_emergence",
        "end": "after_emergence"
      },
      {
        "name": "Placebo (0.9% saline)",
        "role": "control"
      }
    ],
    "anesthesia": "general",
    "conscious_dosing": "some",
    "late_dosing": null,
    "setting": "surgery",
    "procedure": "laparoscopic gastric bypass or sleeve gastrectomy",
    "depression_selection": "unselected",
    "selection_criterion": "",
    "age_group": "adult",
    "depression_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "Beck Depression Inventory (BDI)",
        "code": "BDI",
        "days": [
          1,
          2,
          7
        ],
        "primary": false
      },
      {
        "measure": "Montgomery-Asberg Depression Rating Scale (MADRS)",
        "code": "MADRS",
        "days": [
          1,
          2,
          7
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "pain_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "VAS pain 0-10 (rest/movement not stated)",
        "code": "other",
        "days": [
          0,
          1,
          2,
          7
        ],
        "primary": true
      },
      {
        "measure": "Short-form McGill Pain Questionnaire",
        "code": "other",
        "days": [
          0,
          1,
          2,
          7
        ],
        "primary": false
      },
      {
        "measure": "opioid use throughout the hospital stay (IV morphine equivalents)",
        "code": "opioid",
        "days": [],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
    "blinding": {
      "participants": true,
      "assessors": true
    },
    "registration": {
      "registry": "ClinicalTrials.gov",
      "id": "NCT02452060",
      "date": null
    },
    "enrollment": {
      "start": null,
      "end": null
    },
    "ethics_approval": true,
    "planned_n": 100,
    "country": "USA",
    "centers": "single",
    "note": "Only dose given in PACU after GA, once medically stable, typically 45-60 min after arrival: awake patients, so conscious_dosing some; late_dosing null (no dose under GA). Hydromorphone PCA, no ketamine. No adverse events named in Methods. 41 per arm needed, 50 per arm enrolled."
  },
  {
    "id": "T025",
    "eligible": true,
    "exclusion_reason": null,
    "timing_comparison": false,
    "arms": [
      {
        "name": "Ketamine group",
        "role": "ketamine",
        "drug": "ketamine",
        "route": "iv",
        "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
        "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
        "infusion_hours": null,
        "pump": false,
        "dose_note": "single 0.5 mg/kg infused over 40 min starting at dural opening",
        "start": "after_induction",
        "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
      },
      {
        "name": "Placebo group",
        "role": "control"
      }
    ],
    "anesthesia": "general",
    "conscious_dosing": "none",
    "late_dosing": false,
    "setting": "surgery",
    "procedure": "elective resection of supratentorial brain tumor",
    "depression_selection": "selected",
    "selection_criterion": "PHQ-9 >=10 and MADRS >=22 the day before surgery",
    "age_group": "adult",
    "depression_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "MADRS (also at discharge; response at day 3 primary)",
        "code": "MADRS",
        "days": [
          1,
          3
        ],
        "primary": true
      },
      {
        "measure": "PHQ-9 (also at discharge)",
        "code": "PHQ9",
        "days": [
          1,
          3
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "pain_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "NRS >=5 within the first 3 postoperative days (rest/movement not stated)",
        "code": "other",
        "days": [
          1,
          2,
          3
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
    "blinding": {
      "participants": true,
      "assessors": true
    },
    "registration": {
      "registry": "ClinicalTrials.gov",
      "id": "NCT03086148",
      "date": null
    },
    "enrollment": {
      "start": null,
      "end": null
    },
    "ethics_approval": true,
    "planned_n": 80,
    "country": "China",
    "centers": "single",
    "note": "Whole dose under GA (TIVA) as a 40-min infusion from dural opening; tumor resection and closure follow, so it ended well before the end of surgery (end time not stated explicitly): late_dosing false. Postoperative PCA contents not stated. HADS used only for anxiety. YMRS, BPRS and CADSS recorded."
  },
  {
    "id": "T028",
    "eligible": true,
    "exclusion_reason": null,
    "timing_comparison": false,
    "arms": [
      {
        "name": "Control group",
        "role": "control"
      },
      {
        "name": "Racemic ketamine group",
        "role": "ketamine",
        "drug": "ketamine",
        "route": "iv",
        "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.125,
        "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
        "infusion_hours": null,
        "pump": false,
        "dose_note": "single 0.125 mg/kg in 2 mL after induction and intubation",
        "start": "after_induction",
        "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
      },
      {
        "name": "S-ketamine group",
        "role": "ketamine",
        "drug": "esketamine",
        "route": "iv",
        "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.125,
        "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
        "infusion_hours": null,
        "pump": false,
        "dose_note": "single 0.125 mg/kg in 2 mL after induction and intubation",
        "start": "after_induction",
        "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
      }
    ],
    "anesthesia": "general",
    "conscious_dosing": "none",
    "late_dosing": false,
    "setting": "surgery",
    "procedure": "modified radical mastectomy for breast cancer",
    "depression_selection": "selected",
    "selection_criterion": "preoperative HAMD-17 score 8-24",
    "age_group": "adult",
    "depression_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "HAMD-17",
        "code": "HAMD",
        "days": [
          3,
          7,
          30,
          90
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "pain_measures": [
      {
        "measure": "VAS pain (rest/movement not stated)",
        "code": "other",
        "days": [
          1,
          3,
          7
        ],
        "primary": false
      }
    ],
    "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
    "blinding": {
      "participants": true,
      "assessors": null
    },
    "registration": null,
    "enrollment": {
      "start": "2017-06",
      "end": "2018-06"
    },
    "ethics_approval": true,
    "planned_n": null,
    "country": "China",
    "centers": "single",
    "note": "Single bolus right after GA induction and intubation, early in a mastectomy, so late_dosing false. Postoperative PCIA ropivacaine/fentanyl, no ketamine. Enrollment restricted to HAMD-17 8-24 (<8 excluded). 'Double-blinded' with only anesthesiologists named as blinded; HAMD assessors not described. Only generic complications recorded. Country not stated; inferred from Chinese drug and pump suppliers. 303 enrolled, no planned size."
  }
]
