[
  {
    "id": "T017",
    "eligible": true,
    "exclusion_reason": null,
    "timing_comparison": false,
    "arms": [
      {"name": "group K", "role": "other"},
      {"name": "group D", "role": "control"},
      {"name": "group KD", "role": "ketamine", "drug": "ketamine", "route": "iv", "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5, "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null, "infusion_hours": null, "pump": false, "dose_note": "single dose 5 min after induction, with dexamethasone 0.1 mg/kg (max 8 mg) as group D gets", "start": "after_induction", "end": "before_end_of_surgery"}
    ],
    "anesthesia": "general",
    "conscious_dosing": "none",
    "late_dosing": false,
    "setting": "surgery",
    "procedure": "laparoscopic gynecologic surgery",
    "depression_selection": "unselected",
    "selection_criterion": "",
    "age_group": "adult",
    "depression_measures": [
      {"measure": "PHQ-9", "code": "PHQ9", "days": [1, 3], "primary": true}
    ],
    "pain_measures": [
      {"measure": "100-mm VAS pain at 1, 6, 24, 48 h (rest or movement not stated)", "code": "other", "days": [0, 1, 2], "primary": false},
      {"measure": "PCA (morphine, ketorolac) consumption over 24 h", "code": "opioid", "days": [1], "primary": false}
    ],
    "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
    "blinding": {"participants": true, "assessors": true},
    "registration": {"registry": "ClinicalTrials.gov", "id": "NCT03194594", "date": null},
    "enrollment": {"start": "2017-08", "end": "2018-01"},
    "ethics_approval": true,
    "planned_n": 297,
    "country": null,
    "centers": "single",
    "note": "No saline-only arm. Group D got dexamethasone plus 2 mL saline in ketamine's place and group KD ketamine plus the same dexamethasone, so D vs KD is ketamine vs saline on a shared background: KD = ketamine, D = control. Group K (ketamine plus saline, no dexamethasone) differs from D by more than ketamine: other. One dose 5 min after propofol induction under general anesthesia, and the PCA held no ketamine: conscious none; the dose came at the start of laparoscopic surgery (duration not stated): late false. Only 'side effects of the study drugs' named. 'Double-blinded', parties not named. Country not stated.",
    "reason": "Eligible: group D received saline in ketamine's place with otherwise the same anesthesia and care as group KD, dexamethasone included, so it is an inert control for KD, a ketamine arm 'with what the control arm also gets'. Group K lacks D's dexamethasone, so it is other, not a ketamine arm."
  }
]
