[
 {
  "trial": "T01",
  "eligible": true,
  "reason": null,
  "why": "Individuals were randomized to $1,000 a month for three years, unconditional and flat, against a control arm paid a token $50 a month, in the US, with mental health and employment among the reported outcomes.",
  "country": "United States",
  "sites": [
   "10 counties in north-central Texas, including the Dallas and Fort Worth area",
   "9 counties in northern Illinois, including the Chicago area"
  ],
  "population": "Adults aged 21-40 with 2019 household income at or below 300% of the federal poverty level (households receiving SSI, people receiving SSDI, and residents of subsidized public housing excluded)",
  "years": "2020-11 to 2023-10",
  "arms": [
   {
    "label": "treatment",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 1000,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 36,
    "n_randomized": 1000
   },
   {
    "label": "control",
    "kind": "control",
    "amount": 50,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 36,
    "n_randomized": 2000
   }
  ],
  "comparisons": [
   {
    "id": "T01-1",
    "treated": "treatment",
    "control": "control",
    "kind": "recurring"
   }
  ],
  "randomization": "individual",
  "stratified_by": [
   "race/ethnicity (non-Hispanic Black, Hispanic, other)",
   "income group (0-100%, 101-200%, 201-300% of FPL)",
   "state (Illinois or Texas)",
   "blocks of three formed on baseline covariates, with re-randomization to meet minimum balance p-values"
  ],
  "payment_start": "2020-11",
  "payment_months": 36,
  "waves": [
   {
    "label": "Year 1 (monthly online surveys, app time diaries and quarterly UI records, Nov 2020-Oct 2021)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 6,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "life_satisfaction",
     "employment",
     "hours",
     "earnings"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "Midline (enumerated survey, April-August 2022, about 18 months of payments)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 18,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "life_satisfaction",
     "employment",
     "hours",
     "earnings"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "Year 2 (monthly online surveys, app time diaries and quarterly UI records, Nov 2021-Oct 2022)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 18,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "life_satisfaction",
     "employment",
     "hours",
     "earnings"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "Endline (enumerated survey, March-August 2023, about 30 months of payments)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 30,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "life_satisfaction",
     "employment",
     "hours",
     "earnings"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "Year 3 (monthly online surveys, app time diaries and quarterly UI records, Nov 2022-Oct 2023)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 30,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "life_satisfaction",
     "employment",
     "hours",
     "earnings"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "UI records after the program ends (event study, from Q1 2024)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 39,
    "during_payments": false,
    "measures": [
     "employment",
     "earnings"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "mental_health_instruments": [
   "Kessler 6 (K6)",
   "PHQ-9",
   "GAD-2 (two-question Generalized Anxiety Disorder screener, 0-6)",
   "Perceived Stress Scale (PSS-10)",
   "days mental health was good in the last 30",
   "SF-12 emotional-role items (accomplished less, did things less carefully, emotional problems interfered socially)",
   "mental health index (family index of the above)"
  ],
  "employment_measures": [
   "employed (survey, any paid work)",
   "employed (state unemployment-insurance records, quarterly)",
   "employed (UI records pooled with survey for non-consenters)",
   "hours worked per week (survey and app time diaries)",
   "individual wage/salary earnings (UI records and survey)",
   "total individual and household income excluding the transfers",
   "hours worked by partner and other household members",
   "job search, spells of non-employment, and quality-of-employment indices"
  ],
  "evaluator": "OpenResearch, with researchers at the University of Toronto, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, UC Berkeley and University of Michigan; enumerated surveys by the University of Michigan Survey Research Center",
  "result_reports": [
   "aei:openresearch-health",
   "aei:openresearch-employment"
  ],
  "notes": "Control got $50/month for the same 36 months. Before randomization every enrollee received $50/month during an enrollment period (October 2019 to October 2020). People who knew each other or shared an address were randomized together (18 clusters of 2 and 2 of 3); all others singly. Transfers by direct deposit from non-profits in each state (a reloadable debit card for a few), treated as non-taxable gifts; benefit protections differed by state (Illinois protected SNAP, TANF, child care, Medicaid, energy assistance; Texas only Medicaid and energy assistance). Online-survey year windows are coded at their midpoints (6, 18, 30 months). Main estimates pool periods (endline 70%/midline 30%; years 3/2/1 at 50/30/20%). The PSS and GAD-2 were asked only in the monthly online surveys. Subjective well-being (life satisfaction 0-10, SPANE, domain satisfaction) is reported by year in the employment paper. The consumption paper (aei:openresearch-consumption) has no mental health or employment results. The post-program UI wave is the first quarter after the last payment (Q1 2024), read from the event-study figures (Figure VII, B.5); the report gives no exact end of that window. Biomarker home visits (October 2023-February 2024) measured physical health only.",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "waves"
   ],
   "why": "The reports give separate estimates for years 1-3 of the monthly surveys and for the midline and endline (life satisfaction is plotted at midline and endline too, the PSS is not asked there), and UI event-study points run past the October 2023 last payment into Q1 2024 (39 months); the biomarker visits measured only physical health, so they are not a wave."
  }
 },
 {
  "trial": "T11",
  "eligible": true,
  "reason": null,
  "why": "Madison parents below 200% of poverty were randomly assigned to an unconditional, flat $500 a month for 12 months or a no-cash control, with Kessler 10 distress, perceived stress, and employment reported.",
  "country": "United States",
  "sites": [
   "Madison, Wisconsin"
  ],
  "population": "Adult Madison residents with household income below 200% of the federal poverty line and a child under 18 in the home",
  "years": "2022-09 to 2023-08",
  "arms": [
   {
    "label": "Treatment (Madison Forward Fund, $500/month)",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 500,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 12,
    "n_randomized": 155
   },
   {
    "label": "Control",
    "kind": "control",
    "amount": 0,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 0,
    "n_randomized": 200
   }
  ],
  "comparisons": [
   {
    "id": "T11-1",
    "treated": "Treatment (Madison Forward Fund, $500/month)",
    "control": "Control",
    "kind": "recurring"
   }
  ],
  "randomization": "individual",
  "stratified_by": null,
  "payment_start": "2022-09",
  "payment_months": 12,
  "waves": [
   {
    "label": "6 months (February 2023)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 6,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "12 months (August 2023, when payments ended)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 12,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "18 months (February 2024, 6 months after payments ended)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 18,
    "during_payments": false,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "mental_health_instruments": [
   "Kessler 10 (K10)",
   "Perceived Stress Scale (PSS)"
  ],
  "employment_measures": [
   "employed full-time",
   "employed part-time or seasonal",
   "unemployed and actively looking for work",
   "gig worker",
   "other employment status categories"
  ],
  "evaluator": "Center for Guaranteed Income Research (CGIR), University of Pennsylvania, and the Institute for Research on Poverty (IRP), University of Wisconsin-Madison",
  "result_reports": [
   "cgir:CGIR-Report-Madison-WI"
  ],
  "notes": "From over 9,000 applicants, 155 households were randomly assigned to the program and 200 to control; the research sample was 146 treatment and 171 control, and 2 controls withdrew (final 315: 146 vs 169). Partners: City of Madison, Mayors for a Guaranteed Income, TASC (administrator), IRP, CGIR; privately funded; benefits counseling before enrollment. Payment method not stated. Baseline August 2022. Groups were unbalanced at baseline on the K10 (treatment higher) and on covering a $400 emergency, which all models control for. Attrition 37%, 32%, 33% at 6, 12, 18 months with about 21-27% differential attrition; MICE imputation, linear mixed models, GEE, regression-adjusted means. Employment reported as shares by status with odds ratios.",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "comparisons",
    "arms"
   ],
   "why": "The report states that from over 9,000 applicants 155 households were randomly assigned to $500 a month and 200 to control; 146 and 171 are the research sample that consented, 315 after two controls withdrew."
  }
 },
 {
  "trial": "T21",
  "eligible": false,
  "reason": "no_eligible_outcome",
  "why": "The randomized part, CollegeBound Boost ($500 a month for 24 months plus quarterly deposits to a child's college savings account, against CSA-only and deposits-only arms), is reported only in two qualitative interview papers that present no mental health or employment outcomes by arm and state no plan to, while the People's Prosperity Pilot report that presents Kessler-10 and employment is a single-group study with no control group.",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "eligible"
   ],
   "why": "In both Boost papers employment appears only in a table describing the 32 interviewees, depression and life satisfaction were asked but not reported, and the authors promise only unspecified future quantitative papers on the same financial-needs framework; the CGIR report calls the PPP evaluation non-experimental with no control group."
  }
 },
 {
  "trial": "T22",
  "eligible": true,
  "reason": null,
  "why": "Applicants were randomly assigned to $500/month unconditional cash for 12 months or a no-cash control, and the report presents Kessler distress, perceived stress, and full-time employment.",
  "country": "United States",
  "sites": [
   "Tacoma, Washington (ZIP codes 98404, 98405, 98408, 98409)"
  ],
  "population": "Single parents or guardians of a child 0-17 (or disabled child to 21) with income 100-200% of the federal poverty level",
  "years": "2021-12 to 2022-11",
  "arms": [
   {
    "label": "Treatment group",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 500,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 12,
    "n_randomized": 110
   },
   {
    "label": "Control group",
    "kind": "control",
    "amount": 0,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 0,
    "n_randomized": 132
   }
  ],
  "comparisons": [
   {
    "id": "T22-1",
    "treated": "Treatment group",
    "control": "Control group",
    "kind": "recurring"
   }
  ],
  "randomization": "individual",
  "stratified_by": null,
  "payment_start": "2021-12",
  "payment_months": 12,
  "waves": [
   {
    "label": "6 months (May 2022)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 6,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "12 months (November 2022, as the cash ended)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 12,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "18 months (May 2023, 6 months after payments ended)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 18,
    "during_payments": false,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "mental_health_instruments": [
   "Kessler Psychological Distress Scale (Kessler et al., 2003), total and anxiety subscale",
   "Perceived Stress Scale (stress)"
  ],
  "employment_measures": [
   "employed full-time (self-reported employment status)",
   "part-time or seasonal work",
   "unemployed and looking for work",
   "stay-at-home parent or caregiver"
  ],
  "evaluator": "University of Pennsylvania Center for Guaranteed Income Research (CGIR)",
  "result_reports": [
   "cgir:CGIR-Report-Tacoma-WA"
  ],
  "notes": "Baseline survey August 2021; wave months are the report's labels. The treatment group was already more often employed full-time at baseline (57% vs 42%). Estimates are GEE regression-adjusted means after multiple imputation. Both groups were compensated for surveys. Attrition at 18 months: 94 of 110 treatment, 96 of 132 control.",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "waves"
   ],
   "why": "K10, PSS and employment are reported at 6 (May 2022), 12 (November 2022, as the cash ended) and 18 months (May 2023); the July 2022 midpoint interviews give no between-group results."
  }
 },
 {
  "trial": "T23",
  "eligible": true,
  "reason": null,
  "why": "Applicants were randomly selected for $500/month unconditional cash or a no-cash control, and the report presents Kessler-10, perceived stress, and employment status.",
  "country": "United States",
  "sites": [
   "Ulster County, New York"
  ],
  "population": "Ulster County households earning under 80% of area median income ($46,900)",
  "years": "2021-05 to 2022-09",
  "arms": [
   {
    "label": "Treatment group",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 500,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 17,
    "n_randomized": 100
   },
   {
    "label": "Control group",
    "kind": "control",
    "amount": 0,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 0,
    "n_randomized": 84
   }
  ],
  "comparisons": [
   {
    "id": "T23-1",
    "treated": "Treatment group",
    "control": "Control group",
    "kind": "recurring"
   }
  ],
  "randomization": "individual",
  "stratified_by": null,
  "payment_start": "2021-05",
  "payment_months": 17,
  "waves": [
   {
    "label": "Wave 3 (April 2022)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 11,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "Wave 4 / endline (October 2022, shortly after the GI ended)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 17,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "mental_health_instruments": [
   "Kessler Psychological Distress Scale (K-10)",
   "Perceived Stress Scale (stress)"
  ],
  "employment_measures": [
   "employed full-time",
   "employed part-time"
  ],
  "evaluator": "University of Pennsylvania Center for Guaranteed Income Research (CGIR)",
  "result_reports": [
   "cgir:CGIR-Report-UlsterCounty-NY"
  ],
  "notes": "100 households were randomized to payments and 84 to control, but the research sample was 61 treatment and 84 control. Payments were $500 from May 2021 to June 2022 (12 planned plus 2 extended months), then tapered by schedule, not by income: $400 in July, $350 in August, $250 in September 2022. Wave months computed from dates (first payment May 2021); the report also calls Wave 4 six months after the pilot's original end. Treatment participants got benefits counseling. Complete-case analysis with heavy control attrition (employment table n = 32 treatment, 34 control).",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "comparisons",
    "arms",
    "waves"
   ],
   "why": "The report states 100 households were randomly selected for payments and 84 for control (61 is the study's enrolled treatment sample); it gives K10 at Wave 3 and K10, PSS and employment at Wave 4, which it says coincided with the phase-out, while Wave 2 and the November 2021 interviews have no results for these measures."
  }
 },
 {
  "trial": "T25",
  "eligible": true,
  "reason": null,
  "why": "Main-cohort parents were chosen by lottery for $800 a month for 24 months, with lottery losers as the comparison group, and the report presents anxiety, worry, self-rated mental health, employment and earnings at 18 and 24 months.",
  "country": "USA",
  "sites": "Montgomery County, Maryland",
  "population": "county DHHS clients who had applied for or received benefits since 2020, with a child under 18 and at least one priority condition (child 6 or under, single adult head, older adult with child, or COVID relief eligibility)",
  "years": "2022-07 to 2024-08",
  "arms": [
   {
    "label": "Main cohort (MoCo BOOST participants)",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 800,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 24,
    "n_randomized": 200
   },
   {
    "label": "Main cohort comparison group",
    "kind": "control",
    "amount": 0,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 0,
    "n_randomized": 166
   }
  ],
  "comparisons": [
   {
    "id": "T25-1",
    "treated": "Main cohort (MoCo BOOST participants)",
    "control": "Main cohort comparison group",
    "kind": "recurring"
   }
  ],
  "randomization": "individual",
  "stratified_by": null,
  "payment_start": "2022-07",
  "payment_months": 24,
  "waves": [
   {
    "label": "18-month survey (April 2024)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 18,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "employment",
     "earnings"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "24-month survey (November 2024)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 24,
    "during_payments": false,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "employment",
     "earnings"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "mental_health_instruments": [
   "felt anxious more than half the days or nearly every day",
   "not able to stop worrying",
   "struggling with mental health (self-rated very poor or poor)",
   "felt worried about children's mental health"
  ],
  "employment_measures": [
   "employed (full- or part-time, self-employed, seasonal, informal)",
   "unemployed and looking for work",
   "not in the labor force",
   "personal annual income from paid work (bands)"
  ],
  "evaluator": "Urban Institute (surveys administered by Montgomery County DHHS)",
  "result_reports": [
   "aei:montgomery"
  ],
  "notes": "DHHS invited a random sample of 1,066 eligible clients; 401 applied and 200 were chosen by lottery; the comparison group is 166 eligible applicants not selected. The comparison group had no baseline survey; survey weights used. A second cohort (SEPH, 100 people who had exited shelters) has a comparison group not formed by lottery and only administrative housing outcomes, so it is not part of the randomized comparison and is not coded as an arm. Treatment participants were each assigned a guaranteed-income coach and got benefits counseling (controls did not); some federal benefit waivers were not obtained. Payments began in summer 2022 (month not stated; enrollment May-Oct 2022), so payment_start, years and interview months are approximate. The 24-month survey was taken by most about three months after their last payment. Response rates 60% (18 months) and 50% (24 months), small comparison-group samples.",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "waves"
   ],
   "why": "Only the 18-month (April 2024) and 24-month (November 2024) surveys present anxiety and mental health items, employment and paid-work income by group; the report says most took the 24-month survey three months after their last payment, and the February 2024 and January 2025 interviews give no group results."
  }
 },
 {
  "trial": "T26",
  "eligible": true,
  "reason": null,
  "why": "Adults experiencing homelessness were randomized to $1,000/month, a $6,500 lump sum then $500/month, or a $50/month active control, and the report presents Kessler-10 and employment.",
  "country": "United States",
  "sites": [
   "Denver, Colorado"
  ],
  "population": "Adults experiencing homelessness using one of 19 partner agencies, without severe unaddressed mental health or substance use needs",
  "years": "2022-11 to 2024-01",
  "arms": [
   {
    "label": "Group A ($1,000/month)",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 1000,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 12,
    "n_randomized": null
   },
   {
    "label": "Group B (lump sum)",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 500,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 12,
    "n_randomized": null
   },
   {
    "label": "Group C ($50/month)",
    "kind": "control",
    "amount": 50,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 12,
    "n_randomized": null
   }
  ],
  "comparisons": [
   {
    "id": "T26-1",
    "treated": "Group A ($1,000/month)",
    "control": "Group C ($50/month)",
    "kind": "recurring"
   },
   {
    "id": "T26-2",
    "treated": "Group B (lump sum)",
    "control": "Group C ($50/month)",
    "kind": "recurring"
   }
  ],
  "randomization": "individual",
  "stratified_by": null,
  "payment_start": "2022-11",
  "payment_months": 12,
  "waves": [
   {
    "label": "Timepoint 3 (10 months after enrollment, August-November 2023)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 9,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "mental_health_instruments": [
   "Kessler 10 (K10)",
   "Parenting Distress Scale (stress related to parenting; parents only)"
  ],
  "employment_measures": [
   "full-time employment as a source of income",
   "part-time employment as a source of income",
   "paid temporary work"
  ],
  "evaluator": "Daniel Brisson, Katie Hoops Calhoun and colleagues (the report's text does not name their organization)",
  "result_reports": [
   "aei:denver"
  ],
  "notes": "Group B got $6,500 at the start and $500/month for the next 11 months ($12,000 total, as Group A). All groups got a phone with a 12-month plan, a debit card, and connection to the project, so Group C is an active control. 807 enrolled; per-group randomized numbers are not given (Timepoint 1 respondents: A 209, B 193, C 229). Cohorts were first paid Nov 15, 2022 to Feb 15, 2023, about a month after enrollment; Timepoint 3, 10 months after enrollment, is coded at 9 months since the first payment. Timepoint 1 was at enrollment, after participants knew their group. Results compare Timepoint 1 to 3 for those completing both. The report says the project was extended by 6 months. Biweekly text surveys were also collected. The older-adult subsample abstract (openalex:W4405976894) reports housing and SF-36 only.",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "waves"
   ],
   "why": "Results (K10, parenting distress, employment) are reported only as Timepoint 1 to 3 changes; Timepoint 2 is not reported, the biweekly texts are shown only for housing, and interviews are qualitative. First payments came a month after enrollment (November 15, 2022 to February 15, 2023 by cohort), so Timepoint 3 is 9 months after the first payment."
  }
 },
 {
  "trial": "T27",
  "eligible": true,
  "reason": null,
  "why": "Women were chosen by lottery for $850 a month or $4,300 then $700 a month for 24 months, with non-selected applicants as the comparison group, and the reports present K10 distress, employment and work hours.",
  "country": "USA",
  "sites": "Old Fourth Ward (Atlanta), College Park, and the Clay-Randolph-Terrell county cluster, Georgia",
  "population": "women 18+ with household income at or below 200% of the federal poverty level in three majority-Black Georgia communities",
  "years": "2022-07 to 2024-06",
  "arms": [
   {
    "label": "Group A ($850 per month)",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 850,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 24,
    "n_randomized": 329
   },
   {
    "label": "Group B ($4,300, then $700 per month)",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 700,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 24,
    "n_randomized": 325
   },
   {
    "label": "Comparison group",
    "kind": "control",
    "amount": 0,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 0,
    "n_randomized": 1716
   }
  ],
  "comparisons": [
   {
    "id": "T27-1",
    "treated": "Group A ($850 per month)",
    "control": "Comparison group",
    "kind": "recurring"
   },
   {
    "id": "T27-2",
    "treated": "Group B ($4,300, then $700 per month)",
    "control": "Comparison group",
    "kind": "recurring"
   }
  ],
  "randomization": "individual",
  "stratified_by": null,
  "payment_start": "2022-07",
  "payment_months": 24,
  "waves": [
   {
    "label": "12-month survey (Year One)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 12,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "employment",
     "hours"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "24-month survey (Year Two, summer-fall 2024)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 24,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "employment",
     "hours"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "mental_health_instruments": [
   "Kessler-10 (K10)"
  ],
  "employment_measures": [
   "employed full-time",
   "employed part-time",
   "unemployed",
   "weekly hours worked"
  ],
  "evaluator": "Research team led by Leah Hamilton (Appalachian State University) with the Center for Social Development at Washington University in St. Louis, Morehouse School of Medicine, UCLA and Clark Atlanta University",
  "result_reports": [
   "aei:in-her-hands",
   "pmid:41448443"
  ],
  "notes": "Group B: $4,300 in month 1, then $700/month for months 2-24 ($20,400 in all, as Group A). 15,309 applied, 2,370 eligible; 654 randomized to payments (329 A, 325 B) and 1,716 comparison (the final report says about 1,816). The final report pools both cash arms against the comparison group. The comparison group had no baseline survey and was surveyed only annually (recipients twice a year); response 40.8% vs 11.9% at 12 months and 41.6% vs 10.5% at 24 months. Program launched in summer 2022 (first-payment month not stated, so payment_start and years are approximate); the 24-month survey came about 24 months after the first payment, around the end of payments. K10 at 12 and 24 months is in the abstract pmid:41448443; openalex:W7213452893 reports credit, debt and savings. Implemented by the Georgia Resilience and Opportunity Fund and GiveDirectly. $20-40 per survey.",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "waves"
   ],
   "why": "The comparison group was surveyed only at 12 and 24 months, and the reports give K10, employment and weekly hours for Year One and Year Two only; the participants-only 6- and 18-month surveys and the spring 2024 interviews and PhotoVoice present no between-group results."
  }
 },
 {
  "trial": "T30",
  "eligible": true,
  "reason": null,
  "why": "Single mothers were randomly assigned to $375/month for 12 months or a no-cash control, and the report presents Kessler-10, perceived stress, and full-time employment during and after the pilot.",
  "country": "United States",
  "sites": [
   "Birmingham, Alabama"
  ],
  "population": "Single mothers 18+ living in Birmingham, regardless of income",
  "years": "2022-03 to 2023-02",
  "arms": [
   {
    "label": "Embrace Mothers participant group",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 375,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 12,
    "n_randomized": 131
   },
   {
    "label": "Control group",
    "kind": "control",
    "amount": 0,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 0,
    "n_randomized": 132
   }
  ],
  "comparisons": [
   {
    "id": "T30-1",
    "treated": "Embrace Mothers participant group",
    "control": "Control group",
    "kind": "recurring"
   }
  ],
  "randomization": "individual",
  "stratified_by": null,
  "payment_start": "2022-03",
  "payment_months": 12,
  "waves": [
   {
    "label": "Mid-pilot (6 months, September 2022)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 6,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "End of pilot (12 months, February 2023, last payment)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 12,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "Post-pilot (6 months after payments ended, September 2023)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 18,
    "during_payments": false,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "mental_health_instruments": [
   "Kessler 10 (K10)",
   "Perceived Stress Scale (stress)"
  ],
  "employment_measures": [
   "employed full-time",
   "full-time caregiver or stay-at-home parent",
   "types of paid and unpaid labor",
   "work issues due to childcare"
  ],
  "evaluator": "Abt Global (Abt Associates)",
  "result_reports": [
   "aei:birmingham",
   "dashboard:child-outcomes"
  ],
  "notes": "131 assigned to the participant group: 110 initially, with 21 who could not be onboarded replaced by random draws; the 21 inactive members remain in the intent-to-treat analysis (N = 263). Participants got benefits counseling at onboarding. First payment March 25, 2022. Detailed impact tables are in appendices not included in the file. dashboard:child-outcomes is a qualitative interview brief.",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "waves"
   ],
   "why": "K10, PSS and employment are reported at mid-pilot (September 2022), end of pilot (February 2023, last payment) and post-pilot (September 2023); the January 2023 interviews were with participants only and give no group results."
  }
 },
 {
  "trial": "T31",
  "eligible": true,
  "reason": null,
  "why": "Applicants were randomly assigned to $500/month (24 months plus a 5-month extension) or a no-cash control, and the year-one report presents employment status and perceived stress.",
  "country": "United States",
  "sites": [
   "Alexandria, Virginia"
  ],
  "population": "Alexandria residents in households at or below 50% of area median income",
  "years": "2023-02 to 2025-06",
  "arms": [
   {
    "label": "ARISE participant group",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 500,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 29,
    "n_randomized": 184
   },
   {
    "label": "Control group",
    "kind": "control",
    "amount": 0,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 0,
    "n_randomized": 210
   }
  ],
  "comparisons": [
   {
    "id": "T31-1",
    "treated": "ARISE participant group",
    "control": "Control group",
    "kind": "recurring"
   }
  ],
  "randomization": "individual",
  "stratified_by": null,
  "payment_start": "2023-02",
  "payment_months": 29,
  "waves": [
   {
    "label": "6-month two-question tracking survey",
    "months_since_first_payment": 6,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "employment"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "12-month survey",
    "months_since_first_payment": 12,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "mental_health_instruments": [
   "Perceived Stress Scale (stress)"
  ],
  "employment_measures": [
   "working (any employment)",
   "employed full-time",
   "employed part-time",
   "caregiving or other employment category"
  ],
  "evaluator": "Abt Global",
  "result_reports": [
   "aei:alexandria"
  ],
  "notes": "170 received GI; 14 more assigned to the participant group (unreachable, ineligible, or declined) are kept in the intent-to-treat analysis but were not surveyed (analytic N = 394). Payments were planned for 24 months and extended 5 months through June 2025. The report says GI did not seem to affect 'some measures of mental health' without naming or reporting them. The final report will add the 18- and 24-month surveys and 30-month interviews. Participants got benefits counseling.",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "waves"
   ],
   "why": "The year-one brief gives part-time employment from the 6-month tracking survey and PSS and employment at 12 months; it names no mental health instrument and gives no estimate (only that 'some measures of mental health' were unaffected), and the 18- and 24-month surveys and 30-month interviews are still to come."
  }
 },
 {
  "trial": "T32",
  "eligible": true,
  "reason": null,
  "why": "Applicants were randomly ordered and offered $500/month for 12 months, compared with applicants not offered, and the report presents employment, earned income, perceived stress, and life satisfaction.",
  "country": "United States",
  "sites": [
   "Rochester, New York (qualifying census tracts)"
  ],
  "population": "Residents 18+ living in Rochester at least a year, in qualifying census tracts, with household income at or below 185% of the federal poverty level",
  "years": "2023-09 to 2024-11",
  "arms": [
   {
    "label": "Treatment group",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 500,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 12,
    "n_randomized": 410
   },
   {
    "label": "Control group",
    "kind": "control",
    "amount": 0,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 0,
    "n_randomized": 11180
   }
  ],
  "comparisons": [
   {
    "id": "T32-1",
    "treated": "Treatment group",
    "control": "Control group",
    "kind": "recurring"
   }
  ],
  "randomization": "individual",
  "stratified_by": null,
  "payment_start": "2023-09",
  "payment_months": 12,
  "waves": [
   {
    "label": "12-month follow-up survey (final month of payments)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 12,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "stress",
     "life_satisfaction",
     "employment",
     "earnings"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "mental_health_instruments": [
   "Perceived Stress Scale (0-40; stress), which the report groups under mental health"
  ],
  "employment_measures": [
   "currently employed",
   "currently employed full-time (at least 35 hours a week)",
   "earned income (annual)"
  ],
  "evaluator": "Wilson Sheehan Lab for Economic Opportunities (LEO), University of Notre Dame, with Rochester Institute of Technology",
  "result_reports": [
   "aei:rochester"
  ],
  "notes": "Two cohorts: 175 paid September 2023-August 2024 and 176 paid December 2023-November 2024. Treatment is the 410 contacted for enrollment (351 enrolled); control is 11,180 applicants never contacted; one applicant per household was eligible for selection. The survey invited all treatment and 1,000 randomly chosen controls; 518 completed it (53% treatment, 30% control). Both groups could get information on free financial counseling. Life satisfaction is the Cantril ladder. Quarterly credit bureau records were also analyzed. ITT and TOT estimates reported.",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "waves"
   ],
   "why": "The 12-month survey (August-November 2024, around the final payment) presents employment, earned income, the PSS and the life-satisfaction ladder; the quarterly credit-bureau records hold no mental health or work measures."
  }
 },
 {
  "trial": "T33",
  "eligible": true,
  "reason": null,
  "why": "Single parents were randomly assigned to $660/month for 12 months or a no-cash control, and the report presents Kessler distress, perceived stress, and employment during and after the pilot.",
  "country": "United States",
  "sites": [
   "Shreveport and Caddo Parish, Louisiana"
  ],
  "population": "Single parents 18+ of a child aged 3-20 with household income at or below 120% of the federal poverty level",
  "years": "2022-03 to 2023-02",
  "arms": [
   {
    "label": "SGIP participant group",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 660,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 12,
    "n_randomized": 165
   },
   {
    "label": "Control group",
    "kind": "control",
    "amount": 0,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 0,
    "n_randomized": 132
   }
  ],
  "comparisons": [
   {
    "id": "T33-1",
    "treated": "SGIP participant group",
    "control": "Control group",
    "kind": "recurring"
   }
  ],
  "randomization": "individual",
  "stratified_by": "area: about half of participants drawn from the five lowest-income ZIP codes and half from the rest of the parish",
  "payment_start": "2022-03",
  "payment_months": 12,
  "waves": [
   {
    "label": "Mid-pilot (6 months, September 2022)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 6,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "End-of-pilot (12 months, February 2023, last payment)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 12,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "Post-pilot (6 months after GI ended, August 2023)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 18,
    "during_payments": false,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "mental_health_instruments": [
   "Kessler Psychological Distress Scale (version not stated)",
   "Perceived Stress Scale (stress)"
  ],
  "employment_measures": [
   "has at least one job",
   "participation in paid or unpaid work",
   "employment status (full-time, part-time)",
   "job fulfillment; looked for work because wanted to"
  ],
  "evaluator": "Abt Global (Abt Associates)",
  "result_reports": [
   "aei:shreveport",
   "dashboard:child-outcomes"
  ],
  "notes": "165 randomly assigned to the participant group (110 initial plus 55 random replacements for those not onboarded); 110 received GI; the 45 replaced but application-eligible stay in the intent-to-treat analysis (155 analyzed); the other 10 replaced applicants are not analyzed. Participants got benefits counseling. Detailed impact tables are in appendices not included in the file. dashboard:child-outcomes is a qualitative interview brief.",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "comparisons",
    "arms",
    "waves"
   ],
   "why": "The report says 165 applicants were randomly drawn for the participant group (110 first, then random replacements, 45 of whom stay in the intent-to-treat analysis as inactive) and 132 for control; K10, PSS and employment are reported at mid-pilot, end of pilot and post-pilot, and the February 2023 interviews are qualitative."
  }
 },
 {
  "trial": "T34",
  "eligible": true,
  "reason": null,
  "why": "Young adults were randomly assigned to $500/month for 12 months or a no-cash control, and the report presents Kessler-10, perceived stress, and work during and after the pilot.",
  "country": "United States",
  "sites": [
   "California, Russell, and Smoketown neighborhoods, Louisville, Kentucky"
  ],
  "population": "Young adults aged 18-24 living in three neighborhoods, regardless of income",
  "years": "2022-04 to 2023-03",
  "arms": [
   {
    "label": "YALift! participant group",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 500,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 12,
    "n_randomized": 194
   },
   {
    "label": "Control group",
    "kind": "control",
    "amount": 0,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 0,
    "n_randomized": 180
   }
  ],
  "comparisons": [
   {
    "id": "T34-1",
    "treated": "YALift! participant group",
    "control": "Control group",
    "kind": "recurring"
   }
  ],
  "randomization": "individual",
  "stratified_by": "neighborhood (selection divided evenly across the three neighborhoods)",
  "payment_start": "2022-04",
  "payment_months": 12,
  "waves": [
   {
    "label": "Mid-pilot (6 months, October 2022)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 6,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "End of pilot (12 months, March 2023, last payment)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 12,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   },
   {
    "label": "Post-pilot (6 months after payments ended, October 2023)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 18,
    "during_payments": false,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "stress",
     "employment"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "mental_health_instruments": [
   "Kessler 10 (K10)",
   "Perceived Stress Scale (stress)"
  ],
  "employment_measures": [
   "working (paid work)",
   "working full-time",
   "full-time caregiver or full-time student",
   "difficulty fulfilling commitments outside work"
  ],
  "evaluator": "Abt Global (Abt Associates)",
  "result_reports": [
   "aei:louisville",
   "dashboard:child-outcomes"
  ],
  "notes": "194 assigned to the participant group: 151 received GI and 43 who could not be onboarded stay in the intent-to-treat analysis. Participants got benefits counseling and chose an app or prepaid card. Mental health impacts are in an appendix table not included in the file. dashboard:child-outcomes is a qualitative interview brief.",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "waves"
   ],
   "why": "K10 and PSS (Appendix Table C3) and employment are reported at mid-pilot (October 2022), end of pilot (March 2023, last payment) and post-pilot (October 2023); the February 2023 interviews are qualitative."
  }
 },
 {
  "trial": "T35",
  "eligible": true,
  "reason": null,
  "why": "A lottery gave households a Visa cash card usable anywhere, reloaded with up to $400 a month for nine months, against lottery losers, and the paper presents PHQ-2/GAD-2 and employment and hours.",
  "country": "United States",
  "sites": [
   "Chelsea, Massachusetts"
  ],
  "population": "Chelsea households with income at or below 30% of area median income",
  "years": "2020-11 to 2021-08",
  "arms": [
   {
    "label": "Treatment group (lottery winners)",
    "kind": "recurring",
    "amount": 400,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 9,
    "n_randomized": 2213
   },
   {
    "label": "Control group (lottery losers)",
    "kind": "control",
    "amount": 0,
    "currency": "USD",
    "per": "month",
    "months_paid": 0,
    "n_randomized": 1402
   }
  ],
  "comparisons": [
   {
    "id": "T35-1",
    "treated": "Treatment group (lottery winners)",
    "control": "Control group (lottery losers)",
    "kind": "recurring"
   }
  ],
  "randomization": "household",
  "stratified_by": null,
  "payment_start": "2020-11",
  "payment_months": 9,
  "waves": [
   {
    "label": "Final ('April') survey (April 12-May 10, 2021)",
    "months_since_first_payment": 5,
    "during_payments": true,
    "measures": [
     "mental_health",
     "employment",
     "hours"
    ]
   }
  ],
  "mental_health_instruments": [
   "PHQ-2 and GAD-2 (anxious or depressed: score of 3 or more on either)"
  ],
  "employment_measures": [
   "respondent worked for pay last week",
   "respondent or spouse worked for pay last week",
   "respondent hours worked per week",
   "household hours worked per week"
  ],
  "evaluator": "Harvard University and the Rappaport Institute for Greater Boston (Liebman, Carlson, Novick, Portocarrero); health care utilization study by Harvard Medical School / Brigham and Women's Hospital",
  "result_reports": [
   "aei:chelsea-eats",
   "pmid:39037892"
  ],
  "notes": "Card amount by household size: $200 (one person), $300 (two), $400 (three or more). Weighted lottery (extra tickets for priority criteria), analyzed with inverse-probability weights; 139 drawn from a randomized waitlist were added to the 2,074 winners. Nine monthly credits from November 25, 2020 to August 2, 2021 (the program began with six planned months). 1,936 entrants consented to surveys before the lottery; 95% answered the final survey. The pulse surveys present only control-group trends for employment and PHQ-2/GAD-2, not comparisons. Wave months computed from dates. pmid:39037892 reports behavioral-health emergency visits from medical records.",
  "third_reader": {
   "decided": [
    "waves"
   ],
   "why": "Between-group results for PHQ-2/GAD-2, employment and hours come only from the final survey (April 12-May 10, 2021, about 5 months after the first card credit in late November 2020); the December and February pulse surveys show these only as control-group trends, and the food recall and health-record study have none of these measures."
  }
 }
]
