[
 {
  "id": "T011",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Group K",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "ketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": 0.25,
    "infusion_hours": 0.5,
    "pump": false,
    "dose_note": "bolus at induction, then infusion for 30 min",
    "start": "at_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "Group C",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": false,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "elective orthopedic surgery",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": null,
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "PHQ-9",
    "code": "PHQ9",
    "days": [
     1,
     5
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "postoperative VAS pain scores",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": null,
  "enrollment": {
   "start": null,
   "end": null
  },
  "ethics_approval": false,
  "planned_n": null,
  "country": null,
  "centers": null,
  "note": "Bolus at induction and a 30-min infusion, all under GA. Dosing stopped about 30 min after induction, before the end of elective orthopedic surgery (length not stated), so late false.",
  "reason": "primary_depression: PHQ-9 is not primary. The abstract states the aim (postoperative depressive mood) but never names a primary outcome, and the codebook marks primary only when the Methods name it as such."
 },
 {
  "id": "T013",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Ketamine Group",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "ketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "dose_note": "at induction of general anesthesia",
    "start": "at_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "No ketamine group",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "procedure under general anesthesia (not named)",
  "depression_selection": "selected",
  "selection_criterion": "history of or current depression, Goldberg screen >=5",
  "age_group": null,
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "Goldberg Depression Screening Test",
    "code": "OTHER",
    "days": [
     7
    ],
    "primary": true
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": false
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ClinicalTrials.gov",
   "id": "NCT02422303",
   "date": "2015-04-16"
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2015-12",
   "end": null
  },
  "ethics_approval": false,
  "planned_n": null,
  "country": null,
  "centers": null,
  "note": "Registry record; terminated with 12 enrolled. No-intervention control. Procedure and its length not stated, so late_dosing null. Registry masks participant and care provider, not the assessor.",
  "reason": "late_dosing: null. The only dose was a 0.5 mg/kg bolus at induction, but the record names no procedure and gives no duration, so whether it fell within the last 30 minutes can't be told, and the codebook says null when unclear."
 },
 {
  "id": "T014",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Group K",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "ketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "dose_note": "0.5 mg/kg in 250 mL saline over 1 h, once daily for 7 days",
    "start": "unclear",
    "end": "after_emergence"
   },
   {
    "name": "Group C",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "some",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "breast cancer surgery",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": null,
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "Hospital Anxiety and Depression Scale (HADS)",
    "code": "HADS_TOTAL",
    "days": [
     5,
     90,
     180
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "VAS pain in PACU, at 4 h, 24 h and days 2-5",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     0,
     1,
     2,
     3,
     4,
     5
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "analgesic requirement",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "PMPS incidence and pain level at 3 and 6 months",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     90,
     180
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": null,
   "assessors": null
  },
  "registration": null,
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2015-06",
   "end": "2016-05"
  },
  "ethics_approval": false,
  "planned_n": null,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "Daily 1-h infusions for 7 days, so most doses were given awake after surgery; when the first was given relative to surgery is not stated. HADS named without subscales.",
  "reason": "depression_codes: HADS_TOTAL. The Methods name only the Hospital Anxiety and Depression Scale as a whole (day 5, 3 and 6 months), never its depression subscale, so it is the total score rather than HADS_D."
 },
 {
  "id": "T017",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Group K (ketamine)",
    "role": "other",
    "dose_note": "ketamine 0.5 mg/kg iv without the dexamethasone the control gets"
   },
   {
    "name": "Group D (dexamethasone)",
    "role": "control"
   },
   {
    "name": "Group KD (ketamine + dexamethasone)",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "ketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "dose_note": "with dexamethasone 0.1 mg/kg, 5 min after induction",
    "start": "after_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": false,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "gynecologic surgery",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": null,
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "PHQ-9",
    "code": "PHQ9",
    "days": [
     1,
     3
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "postoperative VAS pain",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "PCA consumption",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": null,
   "assessors": null
  },
  "registration": null,
  "enrollment": {
   "start": null,
   "end": null
  },
  "ethics_approval": false,
  "planned_n": null,
  "country": null,
  "centers": null,
  "note": "No placebo arm: group D (dexamethasone) is the control for group KD, which adds only ketamine; group K lacks dexamethasone, so other. Single bolus 5 min after induction, so late false (surgery length not stated).",
  "reason": "primary_depression: PHQ-9 is not primary. The abstract gives an aim about postoperative mood and lists PHQ-9 among the outcomes evaluated but names no primary outcome, and the codebook marks primary only when the Methods name it."
 },
 {
  "id": "T023",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Group C",
    "role": "control"
   },
   {
    "name": "Group K",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "ketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": 0.25,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "dose_note": "after completion of induction until the end of surgery",
    "start": "after_induction",
    "end": "end_of_surgery"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": true,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "modified radical mastectomy",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": null,
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "Hospital Anxiety and Depression Scale (HADS)",
    "code": "HADS_TOTAL",
    "days": [
     2,
     90
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "NRS at 4, 24 and 48 h",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     0,
     1,
     2
    ],
    "primary": false
   },
   {
    "measure": "chronic pain at 3 months",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     90
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": null,
   "assessors": null
  },
  "registration": null,
  "enrollment": {
   "start": null,
   "end": null
  },
  "ethics_approval": false,
  "planned_n": null,
  "country": null,
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "Bolus after induction and infusion until the end of surgery under GA: late true. HADS named without subscales.",
  "reason": "depression_codes: HADS_TOTAL. HADS scores at 2 days and 3 months are named only as the whole scale, with no depression subscale, so they are coded as the total rather than HADS_D."
 },
 {
  "id": "T027",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Intervention group",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "ketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "dose_note": "with thiopental 1-2 mg/kg at induction (control thiopental 3-5 mg/kg)",
    "start": "at_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "Control group",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": false,
  "setting": "cesarean",
  "procedure": "caesarean section",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "Edinburgh Postnatal Depression Scale (EPDS)",
    "code": "EPDS",
    "days": [
     14,
     28
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": null,
  "enrollment": {
   "start": null,
   "end": null
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": 70,
  "country": "Iran",
  "centers": "multi",
  "note": "Ketamine with a reduced thiopental dose at induction of GA vs thiopental alone at a higher dose. Single induction dose; cesarean length not stated, late false as the only dose was at induction.",
  "reason": "primary_depression: EPDS is not primary. It is the only outcome and the sample size uses an unnamed 'score difference', but the Methods never name a primary outcome, and the codebook marks primary only when named."
 },
 {
  "id": "T028",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Control group (normal saline)",
    "role": "control"
   },
   {
    "name": "Racemic ketamine group",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "ketamine",
    "route": null,
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": null,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "dose_note": "pretreatment; dose, route and timing not stated",
    "start": "unclear",
    "end": "unclear"
   },
   {
    "name": "S-ketamine group",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": null,
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": null,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "dose_note": "pretreatment; dose, route and timing not stated",
    "start": "unclear",
    "end": "unclear"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "unclear",
  "conscious_dosing": "unclear",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "breast cancer surgery",
  "depression_selection": "selected",
  "selection_criterion": "mild/moderate depression",
  "age_group": null,
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "HAMD-17",
    "code": "HAMD",
    "days": [
     3,
     7,
     30,
     90
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "VAS",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": null,
  "enrollment": {
   "start": "2017-06",
   "end": "2018-06"
  },
  "ethics_approval": false,
  "planned_n": null,
  "country": null,
  "centers": null,
  "note": "Abstract gives no dose, route or timing beyond 'pretreatment', and no anesthesia, so conscious dosing is unclear.",
  "reason": "primary_depression: HAMD-17 is not primary. The objective is about postoperative depression, but the abstract names no primary outcome, and the codebook marks primary only when the Methods name it."
 },
 {
  "id": "T087",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Group K (study group)",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "ketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.5,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "dose_note": "single 0.5 mg/kg IV bolus right after propofol 1 mg/kg + fentanyl induction",
    "start": "after_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "Group C (control group)",
    "role": "control"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "sedation",
  "conscious_dosing": "some",
  "late_dosing": null,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "day-case fractional curettage",
  "depression_selection": "unselected",
  "selection_criterion": "",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "POMS depression-dejection subscale (within total mood score)",
    "code": "POMS_D",
    "days": [
     0
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "NRS 120 min after surgery",
    "code": "other",
    "days": [
     0
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": true,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": null,
  "enrollment": {
   "start": null,
   "end": null
  },
  "ethics_approval": false,
  "planned_n": 124,
  "country": "Turkey",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "Procedural IV anaesthesia (propofol 1 mg/kg + fentanyl) breathing spontaneously by nasal mask, no airway device named, so coded sedation and, per the codebook, some. Ketamine bolus was given after induction of a short procedure, so it was likely still acting at waking. Primary outcome POMS total mood score at 120 min; the depression-dejection subscale is part of it. No ethics approval or registration stated in this text. The total mood score is a global affect score, not a depression measure, so only the depression-dejection subscale is listed.",
  "reason": "depression_codes: POMS_D only. The POMS total mood score sums five negative mood subscales less vigour, a global affect score rather than a depression measure (the codebook codes only the POMS depression subscale), so it isn't listed. primary_depression: none. The named primary outcome is that total, not the depression-dejection subscale."
 },
 {
  "id": "T118",
  "eligible": true,
  "exclusion_reason": null,
  "timing_comparison": false,
  "arms": [
   {
    "name": "Esketamine group",
    "role": "ketamine",
    "drug": "esketamine",
    "route": "iv",
    "bolus_mg_per_kg": 0.25,
    "infusion_mg_per_kg_h": null,
    "infusion_hours": null,
    "pump": false,
    "dose_note": "0.25 mg/kg in 20 mL given over the initial 40 min of anesthesia",
    "start": "at_induction",
    "end": "before_end_of_surgery"
   },
   {
    "name": "Saline placebo group",
    "role": "control"
   },
   {
    "name": "Healthy controls (HC)",
    "role": "other"
   }
  ],
  "anesthesia": "general",
  "conscious_dosing": "none",
  "late_dosing": false,
  "setting": "surgery",
  "procedure": "elective breast cancer resection",
  "depression_selection": "selected",
  "selection_criterion": "PHQ-9 >= 5 and MADRS >= 12 (mild-to-severe depressive symptoms)",
  "age_group": "adult",
  "depression_measures": [
   {
    "measure": "MADRS",
    "code": "MADRS",
    "days": [
     1,
     2,
     3,
     4,
     5,
     28,
     84
    ],
    "primary": false
   }
  ],
  "pain_measures": [],
  "psychotomimetic_monitoring": false,
  "blinding": {
   "participants": true,
   "assessors": true
  },
  "registration": {
   "registry": "ChiCTR",
   "id": "ChiCTR2300071062",
   "date": null
  },
  "enrollment": {
   "start": null,
   "end": null
  },
  "ethics_approval": true,
  "planned_n": null,
  "country": "China",
  "centers": "single",
  "note": "MRI secondary analysis of the randomized EASE trial (83 of 108 randomized). Drug given over the first 40 min of propofol TIVA, so 'none'; late false because it ended 40 min into anesthesia, though surgery duration isn't stated. Depression instrument at follow-up visits not named outright; MADRS is the scale analysed. Healthy controls are not a randomized arm.",
  "reason": "roles: one ketamine, one control, one other. The 35 healthy controls scanned at baseline are a group the Methods name and compare but were not randomized, so they are listed with role other, as the codebook says for a non-randomized arm."
 }
]
