Study
Opening the study…
Study
Opening the study…
Where the work did something other than what it follows, its registered plan or the claim it replicates, as its author says.
From its pre-registered plan, under plan/
Not stated
The plan says the placebo distribution calibrates M and M is raised if placebo jumps exceed the honest CI more than expected, but gives no threshold. Rule fixed in code before outcomes were computed: if 2 or more of the 5 placebo cutoffs (31, 32, 33, 37, 38) have honest CIs excluding 0, M is raised to the smallest value in {0.15, 0.2, 0.3, 0.5, 1, 2} pp per year squared that leaves at most 1. Result: 1 of 5 excluded 0 (cutoff 38, whose window contains age 40), so M stayed at the preregistered 0.1.
Bears on C1 and C2
Not stated
Falsification set and family: the plan lists race/ethnicity without categories. We used four indicators (non-Hispanic White, non-Hispanic Black, Hispanic, non-Hispanic Asian), so 11 covariates per cutoff with one Holm family each. Covariates are measured in the primary (nulliparous) sample, except nulliparity share, which can only vary in the all-parity singleton 37-44 week sample.
Bears on C1 and C2
Not stated
The plan gives M only in probability units. For BMI and log birth counts, M is the largest absolute second difference of the variable's own single-age series over ages 28-46, excluding second differences that straddle 35 or 40. This rule gives very wide bias bounds, so the BMI and density tests are uninformative; they cannot fail and do not drive any verdict.
Bears on C1 and C2
Done differently
The plan names an ART-use subgroup. The parsed extract kept rf_inftr (any infertility treatment, which includes ART) rather than rf_artec, so the subgroup is infertility treatment yes/no.
Not stated
Data-quality fix: the 2016 and 2017 NBER files code mrace6 as two digits (10, 20, 30, 40/41, 51, 61); the first digit is taken as the six-group race code used in 2018-2024.
Not stated
The plan says no benefit is claimed only when the CI excludes the benefit implied by Geiger et al. (perinatal mortality -0.39 pp). That benchmark maps only to stillbirth, so the check is applied to term stillbirth; for the other key secondaries we report the honest CIs without a no-benefit verdict.
Bears on C5
Not stated
Holm adjustment for the key secondary benefit outcomes is done within each cutoff (five outcomes per family).
Bears on C3 and C4
Not stated
Stillbirth rate = fetal deaths / (fetal deaths + live births), singleton, nulliparous, 37-44 weeks, US residents, non-imputed age, 2018-2024 (the fetal-death files obtained); the same honest RD with M = 0.1 pp.
Bears on C5
Not stated
Outcome codings: induction ld_indl Y vs N; cesarean dmeth_rec 2 vs 1; delivery at 39 weeks combgest = 39; NICU ab_nicu Y vs N; Apgar apgar5 0-6 vs 7-10 (99 excluded); maternal morbidity any Y among mm_mtr, mm_plac, mm_rupt, mm_uhyst, mm_aicu, with records where they are unknown excluded; BMI 99.9 excluded. Unknown values are dropped per outcome.
Bears on C1, C3, and C4
Not stated
The reproduction step re-runs the analysis from single-year age cell counts (data/cells_*.csv, about 130 KB) built by code/build_cells.py from the 20 GB of public microdata. The full pipeline (download, checksum, parse, build cells) is in code/full_pipeline.sh with checksums in code/SHA256SUMS_raw, and the cells were rebuilt byte-identically on two machines.
Not stated
The plan's SESOI line says about 2.3% relative to a ~43% baseline; the pooled baseline it reports elsewhere is 37.9%. The SESOI of 1.0 pp used in the decision rule is unchanged.
Bears on C1
Not stated
The plan file's first line still reads as a draft heading; this exact file is what was registered, so it is carried unchanged under plan/.